Page 3237 - Week 10 - Thursday, 17 September 2015

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

ACT training excellence awards 2015

MS BURCH (Brindabella—Minister for Education and Training, Minister for Police and Emergency Services, Minister for Disability, Minister for Racing and Gaming and Minister for the Arts) (4.46): I acknowledge tonight the fantastic achievements of the vocational education and training sector in the ACT and offer my sincere congratulations to those that were awarded and honoured at the 2015 ACT training excellence awards earlier this month.

It was a privilege to attend the awards at the Hotel Realm and witness firsthand the many proud Canberrans who represent this sector. The awards illustrated to the local community how essential the efforts of this particularly hardworking strand of our tertiary education system actually are.

I take these few minutes to recognise their efforts and also be out and proud, so to speak, as a passionate believer of our great VET system in Canberra. VET offers great opportunities to graduates to perform and excel in a diverse variety of industries that fuel and sustain our economy.

I note that the award winners will progress to represent us at a national level at the Australian training awards to be held in Hobart in November this year. I send my sincere regards to them and hopes for their success so we can once again show the nation how great the ACT is when it comes to vocational education and training.

On the night I was able to present this year’s prestigious Norm Fisher award to the memory of Adrian Marron. Mr Marron was posthumously honoured on the evening. Mr Marron has been spoken of with high regard in this place. He served this community well. His sister and wife were both there on the evening, and it was a pleasure to have a conversation with them.

To the winners: ACT apprentice of the year, Tevita Supi Ma’ilei; ACT apprentice trainee of the year, Samantha Marks-Galea; ACT vocational school student of the year, Tegan Pate; vocational student of the year, Hanna Darmody; ACT Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander student trainee of the year, Rachel Hounsell; ACT school-based apprentice of the year certificate II, Nicholas Neeson; school-based apprentice of the year certificate III, Hana Chapman-Speering; VET teacher/trainer of the year, Melissa Dinn; and the John Scott memorial award, Jerome de Rose. Also recognised was Gungahlin College, the Australian Indigenous Leadership Centre, CIT, Wilson Security and Transformed Pty Ltd.

I also want to acknowledge that I have had in my office over the last couple of weeks some fabulous interns: Monique Blasiak and Tom McKernan. They have been a great and valued addition to my office over the last little while.

In the time I have left I want to note that this morning, Ms Lawder—I do not know if it is per chance that you are sitting in the chair—you showed you were not across your detail during the debate. You declared in your amendment that ACT family day care

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video