Page 3147 - Week 10 - Wednesday, 16 September 2015

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Melba Copland secondary students’ input, we have a mobile app better designed to meet the needs of aspiring drivers. As a result students across Canberra will be better prepared with knowledge of the road rules before they get their L plates. Again, the Melba Copland students made the Chief Minister and me most welcome on our visit.

I remember visiting the Melba Copland school in 2012 in the midst of extensive renovations to bring the ageing school up to modern standards and I particularly admired how well the principal steered the staff and students through that difficult phase with half the school a building site and many students relocated to the separate Melba Copland College campus up the road. The whole process was successfully managed and today the school campus is modernised, roomy and bright. Likewise, the students are a bright lot with a great spirit and lots of enthusiasm.

NECA awards

MR COE (Ginninderra) (6.19): I rise this evening to speak about the 2015 NECA ACT excellence awards. The NECA excellence awards are the ultimate recognition of outstanding contribution and the most prestigious awards in the electro technology sector. I note that Mr Gentleman, Mr Smyth and Mr Doszpot were also at the awards. The awards provide contractors with the opportunity to demonstrate their top projects to peers, clients, industry and the community. The awards are divided into categories to suit all types and sizes of projects. The association aims to promote members’ interests through advocacy, training, insurance and legal assistance.

The executive committee members are the president, Barry Skinner; the vice-president, Peter Hart; the Treasurer, Stephen Buckley; committee members, Robert Donnelly and Grant Bawden; and the secretary and executive director, Oliver Judd.

The 2015 awards ceremony was held at the Hotel Realm on 14 August and was attended by 300 industry members and other guests. The judging panel for the 2015 awards was Darrell Hills, Ray Reavley and Paul McKenzie.

I place on the record my congratulations to the winners of the 2015 awards: domestic residence, Enecorp for Maxwell Street; small contracting business, Casper Electronics; energy efficiency and environment, Lorking Electrical for Wetspot Water Sports LED lighting upgrade; lighting, Stowe Australia for the Australian War Memorial external lighting upgrade; industrial small project, Shepherd Electrical for the Canberra Deep Space Communication Complex 22KV switchgear works; voice/data, RCR O’Donnell Griffin for DHS connectivity project6 CDC Fyshwick; small project, RCR O’Donnell Griffin for Canberra College Cares; commercial medium project, Martin Donnelly for Canberra Data Centre; and the commercial large project, Star Group for the Australian Defence Force Academy redevelopment.

I also congratulate those people who received commendations, including: commercial small project, Shepherd Electrical for Autohaus Mercedes Benz showroom, and Stowe Australia for Optus home exchange distribution boards install; commercial medium project, Rutledge AV for First World War galleries redevelopment; and the commercial large project, RCR O’Donnell Griffin for the DHS connectivity project CDC Fyshwick.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video