Page 642 - Week 02 - Thursday, 14 February 2013

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Once again, my congratulations to Softball ACT and all their organisers and the committee for a wonderful event that helped not only our Canberra sporting public but also the visitors that come to watch this event each year.

Burgmann Anglican School—year 12 graduation

MR COE (Ginninderra) (4.34): On 18 December last year I was privileged to attend the Burgmann Anglican School year 12 graduation. Burgmann has a student population of about 1,500 students spread across two campuses and provides education for students from preschool through to year 12. The school is led by its principal, Steven Bowers, deputy principal and head of senior school, John Foulcher, director of studies, Rod Crnkovic and head of ministry, Alex Abecina. The school continues to go from strength to strength and has earned its reputation for academic excellence and a genuine all-round education.

I would like to acknowledge the hard work and dedication of the following year 12 students who were award recipients in 2012: the award for dedication and application to school life in tertiary studies, Marianne Tadros; the award for independent learning, David McMillan; the award for highest personal achievement, Tom O’Rourke; the Long Tan leadership and teamwork award, Anna Kaufmann; the John Francis Morgan award for chemistry, David Easey; the Institute of Chartered Accountants student award for business, Anusha Bale; the Canberra Mathematics Association medallion, David Easey; the design and innovation award, Mikayla Hinds; the excellence in vocational studies, Jayme-Lee Maher; the Pierre de Coubertin award, Jake Provan; the Duke of Edinburgh award—gold, Samuel Hinchcliffe; and the excellence in academic studies award—accredited, Sarah Atkinson.

The academic achievement awards went to Anna Kaufmann, Christine Paek, Derek Smith, Christopher Zhang, Dillon Hammill, Kelsey Marshall, Marianne Tadros and Robin Gruen. The Beth Heyde academic excellence award went to Jessica Adams and David Easey. The cultural and creativity award went to David Easey. The excellence in vocational studies Board of Senior Secondary Studies went to Sarah Atkinson. And the Browning award went to David Easey and Anna Kaufmann.

I would also like to pay tribute to the guest speaker, Tanja Cobden, a year 12 Burgmann student from 2011; David Easey, who performed a musical interlude; and Marissa Karvelas, who gave a student address. What Marissa has endured through the course of her illness and treatment is extraordinary, and her determination is a true inspiration. I wish her well in her studies and treatment.

I wish all the students of 2012 all the best in their post-school life and the entire Burgmann school community a very successful 2013 school year.

Orientation week

MR WALL (Brindabella) (4.36): I rise this evening to speak about an important event that has taken place over the last few weeks at the beginning of a new university semester in Canberra, O week. O week, or orientation week, gives students, both

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video