Page 5751 - Week 14 - Tuesday, 6 December 2011

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

The Canberra Old Boys are a touring side, affiliated with the Tuggeranong United Football Club. Their motto is “degenerating disgracefully”. The Old Boys draw their core from older players of the Tuggeranong United Football Club masters teams and are complemented by other players from around Australia who have links with the team. They have participated in masters tournaments around Australia and overseas every year since 1994 and always play in the oldest age division and on the way have accumulated an impressive medal tally, highlighted by winning the World Masters over-45 division in Melbourne in 2002.

The Canberra Old Boys at the Australian Masters Games in Adelaide 2001 included the following players: Momo Radulovich, Woody Elliott, Ian Ippoliti, Alan Greenslade, Tony Santolin, Wally Hoefel, Rudi Aiono, Alan Froud, Bob Kostic, Bill Hardie, Leslie Herbert, Norm Holcroft, Milan Novakovic, Joe Kaczor, Stewart Leenards, Ken Menser, Pat Sergi and Wally Conlon. The Tuggeranong masters in the 2011 team were Bill Hardie, 64 years old; Alan Froud, 64; Wally Conlon, 62; Alan Greenslade, 62—they were all originals from the first tournament in 1994—Momo Radulovich, 65; Wally Hoefel, 59; Leslie Herbert, 58; Ken Menser, 57; Woody Elliott, 56; Norm Holcroft, 55; Milan Novakovic, 51. I congratulate the Canberra Old Boys for their victorious domination of the Masters Games and congratulate all the players who performed so superbly.

On Wednesday, 23 November 2011, in my capacity as the shadow minister for education, I was pleased to attend the CIT creative industries showcase. The creative industries centre student prizes were sponsored by industry. The following students won prizes on the night: Milo Magnacavello for architectural drafting, Peter Rankin for building design, Lauren Sharman for interior design, Stella Sheppard for interior residential design, Andrew Neilen for graphic design, Byron Carr for digital media, Tara Davey for visual arts, Stephen Corey and Rhys Bell for photography.

I would like to thank CIT for the hospitality, in particular Jenny Dodd, the acting deputy chair and chief executive of education services. Congratulations to CIT and their students for the fantastic effort in putting together the whole creative industries showcase momentum 2011. There were hundreds of people there the night I was there. That presentation of the various different categories and the various different programs on offer by the CIT was on over a number of days at the Kingston markets. It was a very creative use of space as well and it was very much appreciated by the students as well as the people who had the opportunity to have a look at the works of art that were displayed. Once again, my congratulations to the CIT and all of the students, not just the winners but all of the ones who were nominated.

Burgmann College

Belconnen senior citizens club

MR COE (Ginninderra) (5.09): I rise this evening to say a few words about Burgmann college at the ANU, at a very auspicious time in the college’s history—their 40th anniversary. Burgmann College was founded in 1971 by five churches, which included the Anglican, Baptist, Church of Christ, Presbyterian and Uniting churches. The founders envisaged a community of young students of all faiths that could live and study together.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video