Page 4725 - Week 11 - Wednesday, 19 October 2011

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

to be present at the announcement of a partnership between the CFMEU and Special Olympics which will greatly assist the valuable work of Special Olympics ACT. The CFMEU will donate $100,000 over the next three years.

I commend the CFMEU on their willingness to support community sport and Special Olympics ACT in particular. I also congratulate them on their continuing support for Canberra icons such as the Canberra Capitals, Canberra Raiders and Canberra United.

I am certain that the CFMEU and Special Olympics will enjoy a positive partnership for the next three years. I wish the athletes and volunteers of Special Olympics ACT continued success in their sporting activities.

AIDS Action Council

MR HANSON (Molonglo) (6.29): I rise tonight to talk about the AIDS Action Council annual general meeting conducted on 12 October. I was honoured to deliver the 12th annual Peter Rowland address on the topic of the “Changing landscape of health in the ACT—access and delivery”. It was a great night; I got to meet many of the members of the council including the board members: Mr Scott Malcolm, the president; Mr Alan Verhagen, the vice president; Mr Andrew Grimm, the secretary/treasurer; Ms Delia Quigley, board member; Dr Nathan Boyle, board member; and Dr Daryl Evans, board member. I would also like to mention Andrew Burry, the general manager, and Andrew McLeod, the finance manager.

On the evening a number of awards were presented, and I would like to go through those. Fabulous membership was presented to Mr Brendan Smyth MLA. I note that Brendan is not here in the chamber because he knew I was going to mention this and was a little bit embarrassed to have me relate the fact that he is so proud of the award for his ongoing contribution to the AIDS Action Council. He is such a regular attender at their meetings and went to mardi gras on a number of occasions to show his support when he was a minister. I know that he was very touched, very humbled and very appreciative of that award. Fabulous membership was also given to Mr David Mills and Mrs Stephanie Buckle.

The David Widdup award was given to Mr John Davey. The community award went to Mr Ken Teoh and Mr John Kloprogge. The media communication award went to Ms Kate Evans from ABC Canberra, and the president’s award went to Mr Peter Hyndal. To all of those people who were given awards by the AIDS Action Council at the AGM, I congratulate you on the service that you have provided to the council in the important work that they conduct.

For those of you who are unaware of the activities and the good work of the council, I recommend that you go to their excellent website. I thank the AIDS Action Council again for the work that they do for our community, and I encourage them to keep up that good work.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video