Page 4261 - Week 10 - Wednesday, 21 September 2011

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

specifically asked to be stopped. Other members, when we have had our time reduced, have not been given additional time at the discretion of the chair. So perhaps the Speaker can come back to us tomorrow with information on how this is going to be implemented from now on, because it has not been past practice in this place.

MADAM ASSISTANT SPEAKER: It is the call of the Speaker. People can ask for the clock to be stopped. It is the call of the Speaker to stop the clock. I should have done so. I did not.

Mr Hargreaves: Madam Assistant Speaker, I want it officially recorded that we have requested the Speaker to return to this chamber and tell us the answer to that question.

MADAM ASSISTANT SPEAKER: I will take it up with the Speaker. Do you still want to move dissent from something, Mr Hargreaves?

Mr Hargreaves: No, I will leave it at that, Madam Assistant Speaker, for the moment.


MR SESELJA: Thank you, Madam Assistant Speaker. I am glad we could debate the big issues to finish. I appreciate the ability to spend the few moments concluding that I was denied by Mr Corbell’s interjections. But it is interesting that Mr Corbell was so sensitive on this issue that he went out and got kicked out of the chamber, fighting for that right to wag. That was what happened here tonight.

He was desperate to condemn the principal for what he had done. He got hot under the collar defending the principle that people should not be held to account, that the principal should not be able to work with his community to deal with truancy. I think it is a reflection of the values of Mr Corbell and a reflection of the values of this government that those are the things that they are going to go out fighting for. They are going to fight against the rights of principals to do the right thing. I commend the bill to the Assembly.

Question put:

That this bill be agreed to in principle.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 5

Noes 8

Mr Coe

Mr Seselja

Mr Barr

Ms Gallagher

Mr Doszpot

Dr Bourke

Mr Hargreaves

Mrs Dunne

Ms Bresnan

Ms Hunter

Mr Hanson

Ms Burch

Ms Le Couteur

Question so resolved in the negative.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video