Page 3347 - Week 08 - Wednesday, 17 August 2011

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Question put:

That the motion, as amended, be agreed to.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 11

Noes 6

Mr Barr

Mr Hargreaves

Mr Coe

Mr Smyth

Dr Bourke

Ms Hunter

Mr Doszpot

Ms Bresnan

Ms Le Couteur

Mrs Dunne

Ms Burch

Ms Porter

Mr Hanson

Mr Corbell

Mr Rattenbury

Mr Seselja

Ms Gallagher

Question so resolved in the affirmative.

ACT public service—staffing

MR SESELJA (Molonglo—Leader of the Opposition) (11.48): I move:

That this Assembly:

(1) notes:

(a) that whistleblowers are individuals who have the courage to bring attention to wrongdoings and, as such, deserve to be adequately protected;

(b) that there has become a culture of bullying and intimidation towards whistleblowers which developed under this ACT Labor Government;

(c) the systematic discrimination towards ACT public servant, Ms Debbie Scattergood, by the Government for revealing inefficiencies in the management of a $15 million contract for mowing and garden maintenance work in the Woden-Weston area;

(d) the Government’s corruption of process during the independent Bimberi inquiry, which included documented evidence suggesting staff collude with department managers and reprisals on staff who gave evidence;

(e) the pushing aside of Mr Neil Savery, ACT Chief Planner by the Government after repeated attempts by him to ensure the integrity of the planning process in Canberra;

(f) the Minister for Health’s continued suppression of the findings of an inquiry into bullying at The Canberra Hospital; and

(g) the termination in May 2011 of Mr Doug Buchanan as Superintendant of the Alexander Maconochie Centre, who has publicly stated that he was denied due process and sacked for political reasons, including his opposition to a needle exchange at the gaol; and

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video