Page 2028 - Week 06 - Monday, 16 May 2011

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

statements that shall be relevant to the election. The time limit is five minutes per speaker. Are there any statements?

MS GALLAGHER (Molonglo) (10.03): Thank you, Mr Speaker. I wish to speak briefly to my nomination.

Last Friday I was chosen by my colleagues in the ACT Labor caucus to become the new leader of the Labor Party following the resignation of the previous leader and Chief Minister of the ACT, Mr Jon Stanhope. I thank my colleagues for the support they have provided and the faith they have placed in me as their leader.

In 2008, with the support of the ACT Greens, the Labor Party formed government here in the ACT. Since that time we have provided strong, stable and progressive government for the people of the ACT. I look forward to continuing to build on that record if I am to gain the support of the Assembly today.

MR SESELJA (Molonglo—Leader of the Opposition) (10.04): I will speak briefly. Thank you, Mr Speaker.

Mr Speaker, we are very good at counting in the Liberal Party. But it is worth saying why I have chosen to put my hand up, or why Mr Smyth has nominated me. Despite the fact that there is a Labor-Greens alliance in this place, we believe that there does need to be a very strong alternative voice, not just at the next election but right through the four-year term.

We take very seriously our responsibility to the community. We take seriously our responsibility to put forward ideas, and different ideas from the Labor Party and the Greens, on how we can lift the burden when it comes to things like cost of living for the people in the ACT, how we can fix issues like housing affordability, how we can fix our ailing health system.

We believe that the people of the ACT deserve better than what they are getting at the moment. Whilst we know the result today, we will continue to prosecute that case over 18 months in the lead-up to the next election.

MR SPEAKER: Ballot papers will now be distributed. Will members please write on the ballot paper the name of the candidate for whom they wish to vote and hold their own ballot paper for collection. The candidates are Ms Katy Gallagher and Mr Zed Seselja.

The result of the ballot is Ms Gallagher 11 votes, Mr Seselja six votes. Therefore, Ms Gallagher, the candidate with the majority of votes of members present and voting, is declared Chief Minister.

A ballot having been taken—

MR SPEAKER: Members, before we move to the adjournment, I would like to acknowledge Ms Karin MacDonald and Mr Bill Wood, former MLAs in this place, and welcome them back to the Assembly for this occasion.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video