Page 5129 - Week 14 - Tuesday, 17 November 2009

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

I would like to thank the sponsors of the CAT awards: ActewAGL, Smoke-Free, Channelvision, Teatro Vivaldi, Canon, Quest Wagga Wagga and Vent.

I would like to commend the cast, orchestra and production team involved with the Phoenix Players and Supa Productions performance of Miss Saigon at the ANU Arts Centre. The season opened on 12 November and is running until 28 November. I urge all in the Assembly to attend and to encourage others to attend too. Steve Doszpot, Vicki Dunne and I, and others, had the pleasure of attending the opening night of the production and we were very impressed with every aspect of the performance.

I would like to pay particular tribute to those involved in the set design and production of the helicopter scene. The back-of-house people do not always get the recognition that they deserve, so that is why I am giving them their kudos here. I am sure everyone who attends will be amazed with the realism of that particular scene.

Given that I have enough time, I would like to acknowledge the cast, orchestra and production team. They are: Grant Pegg, Jacinta Le, Dean Salonga, Sean Ladlow, Claire Watson, Simon Stone, Mariam Grey, Chloe Van, Maximilian Hoy, Ryan Tolich, Christine Van, Cornelia Carson, Deanna Gibbs, Dim Ristevski, Ele Wilcher, Elizabeth Flynn, Hannah McFadden, James Powell, Jessica Holmick, Kevin Ching, Matthew Chardon O’Dea, Michelle Klemke, Naomi Barnbaum, Nicole Sklavos, Peter Ricardo, Rebecca Franks, Renee Krig, Richard Block, Rina Benedictos, Sarah Golding, Simon Wong, Steve Galinec, Tegan Mitchell, Thompson Quan Wing, Will Huang and Yvette Rugala; in the orchestra, Andrea Clifford, John Yoon, Ewan McLunato, Catherine Rheinberger, Wendy Kehoe, Nerrida McCorkell, Tom Manley, Gabrielle Ball, Ian Hearn, Philip White, John Batterham, Adam Dickson, Derrick Brassington, Liz Turner and Peter McDonald; and in the production team, Kelda McManus, Andrea Clifford, Amy Fitzpatrick, Jennie Norberry, Garrick Smith, Gaby Schmid, Judy Satrapa, Brian Sudding, Sudzsets, Eclipse Lighting and Sound, Ruth Boddy, Tony Falla, Jessica Cooke, Suzan Cooper, Alissa Gabriel and Andrew Properjohn.

It is a great production and it is a tribute to the fantastic cast, orchestra and crew.

Flynn primary school

MRS DUNNE (Ginninderra) (4.40): In question time last week the Chief Minister made a number of outrageous allegations about the Flynn community, Flynn school and an individual member of the Flynn community. As one of the members for Ginninderra, I have been approached by members of the Flynn primary school P&C association who have asked that I present the following statement, which I understand has been sent to some members of the Assembly. The statement reads:

The Flynn Primary School P&C Association would like to comment on the claims made by the Chief Minister in the Assembly on 11 November 2009.

The Flynn P&C does not accept that it is responsible for the current state of the Flynn Primary School. The government closed the school in December 2006, and until then the alarms worked and the building was fully occupied and it was in good condition with no graffiti or vandalism.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video