Page 4518 - Week 12 - Wednesday, 14 October 2009

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . .

was no change of views; there was a clarification of views. There was a refining of views but we did not backflip. We did not make a commitment to the attorney that we would go one way and then went and changed our minds. We asked for a review, we came to a conclusion and there was a recommendation which was quite equivocal. The recommendation was that the attorney should consider another form of words. There was no backflip.

Gungahlin United Football Club


MR SESELJA (Molonglo—Leader of the Opposition) (6.43): I was very pleased, on 25 September this year, to attend the Gungahlin United Football Club senior presentation dinner. The Gungahlin United Football Club are an organisation that I have had an association with over a number of years. I think they are one of the fastest growing football clubs, certainly in the ACT. They are now one of the bigger football clubs here in Canberra and serving the needs of the growing community of Gungahlin. It was a great pleasure to be there; it always is. They showed me and Ros, my wife, wonderful hospitality. We both had a fantastic evening—indeed, even though the Parramatta-Canterbury game was on and I was not watching it. I managed to avoid knowing the score, too, which was fantastic; they were all very good to me.

I want to acknowledge the new president, Mark Walker, whom I had the opportunity of speaking with throughout the night. I acknowledge also the former president, Victor Hughes, who served for a number of years, and Nicky McGale, our contact person.

I also take the opportunity to acknowledge some of the people who received awards on the night. I will go through them fairly quickly because there is a reasonable list. There were a number in all of the different age groups. There were some life member recipients: Chris Granger and Ricardo Alberto. The 2009 senior club person of the year was Chris Granger. The 2009 senior player of the year was Bryson Thomas, and the 2009 senior coach of the year was shared, I believe, among Tiahn Rukavina, Craig McGale and Raj Kumar.

A number of awards were given in various age categories. With respect to the players’ player, going through the different divisions, we had Sara-Jane Byrne, Tiahn Rukavina, Raylene Foster, Bryson Thomas, Rudhra Prasad, Brad Sawyer, Ryan Kay, Lognadan Gounder, David Langlois, Jayde Uttley and Emma Conlan. The fair play awards went to Jade Sargent, Michella Bertrand, Jo Murray and Jody Berry, Stephen Keefe, Dot Lwin, Robert Foote, Richard Grant, Ritesh Karan, Michael Seldon, Robert Granger, Jason Argento, Shiann Knight-Moore and Skye Singh, and Claire Larkin. The most improved/golden boot awards went to Emma Pinner, Tanya Campbell, Ben Damiano, Rohit Chand, Anthony Laurent, Jimmy Ngo, Faisal Sheik, Nick Malouf, Dylon Singh, Cale Robertson, Rebecca Lang and Natasha Cartwright.

I would like to pay tribute to all those who received awards on the night, but I particularly pay tribute to the Gungahlin United Football Club for the wonderful service it provides to the people of Gungahlin and to the people of the ACT in general.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . .