Page 4386 - Week 12 - Tuesday, 13 October 2009

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . .

Question so resolved in the negative.


Motion by Mr Corbell proposed:

That the Assembly do now adjourn.

Girls Brigade

MR COE (Ginninderra) (5:01): Recently, I had the pleasure of attending the Girls Brigade Australia national conference here in Canberra. The national conference is held every three years, with the host city being on rotation. So the event taking place in Canberra was a significant occasion.

The conference opened on 3 October at the Greenhills conference centre. In spite of the rain that challenged the group for the duration, the opening and the events that followed were very successful. I understand one of the highlights of the trip, and one of the highlights of the event, was a reception at Government House hosted by the Governor-General.

The Girls Brigade was formed in 1965 by the merging of the Girls Brigade (Ireland), which was formed in Dublin in 1893, the Girls Guildry, founded in Scotland in 1900, and the Girls Life Brigade, which was founded in England in 1902. In Australia, the first Girls Brigade company was established in 1927 at Wyalkatchem Methodist Church in Western Australia.

Today, the Girls Brigade operates in more than 50 countries with the supreme aim, adhered to throughout the whole movement, of helping girls to find true enrichment of life. The Girls Brigade’s main aim is to “help girls become followers of the Lord Jesus Christ and through self-control, reverence and a sense of responsibility to find true enrichment of life”.

The girls do many activities, including things such as arts and craft, bushwalks, camping, communications, cooking, excursions, first aid, painting, pet care, other social events, and many others.

The national patron of the Girls Brigade Australia is Her Excellency Quentin Bryce AC. The other office bearers include the National Commissioner Coral Anderson, the National Deputy Commissioner Helen Webb, the National Treasurer Allan Gibson, the National Chaplain Ruth Ebell, the National Administrator Renelle Neale, the ACT State Commissioner Elizabeth Moglia, the NSW State Commissioner Janet King, the Queensland State Commissioner Glenda Brooks, the South Australian State Commissioner Lyn Ray, the Tasmanian State Commissioner Jane Banham, the Victorian State Commissioner Wendy Sinclair, and the Western Australian State Commissioner Yvonne Waddell.

I would also like to pay particular tribute to Canberra resident Mrs Elizabeth Harding, who on 3 October at the opening of the conference became a life member following years of selfless service to the organisation.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . .