Page 2171 - Week 06 - Monday, 11 May 2009

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . .

Distinguished visitors

MR SPEAKER: Thank you, Mr Stanhope. Members, before I call the Leader of the Opposition, I would like to acknowledge the presence in the gallery of a number of former members. I acknowledge:

Wayne Berry

Kate Carnell AO

Bernard Collaery

the late Terry Connolly, represented by his wife, Helen Watchirs

Greg Cornwell

Roslyn Dundas

Annette Ellis MP

Mick Gentleman

Senator Gary Humphries

Norm Jensen

the late Trevor Kaine, represented by his wife, Sandie Kaine

the late Hector Kinloch, represented by his wife, Lucy Kinloch

Carmel Maher

Karin MacDonald

Michael Moore

Bill Stefaniak

Helen Szuty

Lou Westende OAM

Bill Wood.

On behalf of all members, I extend a warm welcome to the former members and thank them for joining our celebrations.

20th Anniversary of self-government

MR SESELJA (Molonglo—Leader of the Opposition) (10.16): Mr Speaker, it is not as a matter of course all that often that I rise to speak in wholehearted support of a motion put forward by the Chief Minister; but today for this occasion it is my honour and my privilege to do so.

The motion we are debating today raises four areas which are well worth endorsing and elucidating. The first is that this day marks the 20th anniversary of self-government for the ACT. That really is some achievement. The early cynicism has largely been replaced by the steady stream of voices from those who see the Assembly for what it is: the forum for the people of the ACT to determine their own destiny.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . .