Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . .

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2003 Week 10 Hansard (25 September) . . Page.. 3774 ..

(7) Many foster parents do not continue looking after children for a multiple range of reasons. These reasons are provided to the non government agencies that coordinate foster care placements and are not provided to Family Services as a matter of cause.

(8) The department is currently in the process of a range of strategies that will assist with addressing the circumstances covered in the previous paragraphs. Developments such as:

Review of special appraisals;

Review of the Children and Young People Act 1999;

Statement of Commitment to Carers;

Foster carer survey;

Foster care promotion campaign;

National foster care plan;

Vision Forum.

Additionally, Family Services routinely works with stakeholders in the sector including the Foster Care Association, Non-Government Foster Care Agencies and CREATE through the Substitute Care Committee and the Practice Partnership Group.


(Question No 828)

Mrs Dunne asked the Minister for Police and Emergency Services, upon notice, on Tuesday, 19 August 2003:

In relation to firefighting:

(1) How many fire unit captains and deputy captains are on the ACT Government payroll as firefighters;

(2) What are the qualifications of each captain and deputy captain;

(3) In each case, when were they last upgraded;

(4) What provision exists for ongoing training and upgrading of firefighting skills.

Mr Wood

: The answer to the member's question is as follows:

(1) Each departmental brigade has a captain and a number of deputy captains on the ACT Government payroll. There are two departmental bushfire brigades. Therefore, there are two Captains and 14 Deputy Captains.

(2) The ACT Bushfire Service (ACTBS) officer qualifications are defined by a policy decision in 1999 by the then ACT Bushfire Council and align with the National Training Qualifications Framework (NTQF) approved by the Australian National Training Authority.

The types of training departmental officers are required to undertake include:

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . .