Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2016 Week 01 Hansard (Monday, 31 October 2016) . . Page.. 8 ..

Leader of the Opposition

MADAM SPEAKER: Under standing order 5A, the Leader of the Opposition shall be the leader of the largest non-government party, with the consent of that member. As Mr Coe, as leader of the Canberra Liberals, is the leader of the largest non-government party, I now seek his consent to being the Leader of the Opposition.

MR COE (Yerrabi—Leader of the Opposition): Thank you, Madam Speaker. I give my consent.

MADAM SPEAKER: Mr Coe, can you please take your seat at the table.

MR COE: I seek leave to make a statement.

Leave granted.

MR COE: I stand this morning honoured to be one of 11 Liberal MLAs determined to serve Canberra to the best of our ability. Madam Speaker, firstly I acknowledge your election as Speaker. I thank Mrs Dunne for her service as Speaker in the Eighth Assembly. I believe that Mrs Dunne carried out her duties with distinction and with honour. Whilst, of course, I wish she were still in the Speaker’s role, as Liberal MLAs we are pleased to have her full time on the opposition benches alongside us.

The Canberra Liberals have much to be proud of. At the last election under Jeremy Hanson’s strong leadership, the party received 89,000 votes and had 11 members elected. The Canberra Liberals had a united term and we had a disciplined campaign where we put forward policies and issues that we believed in. Jeremy has served Canberra well and continues to do so.

I would like to acknowledge the service of one now-retired MLA, Mr Val Jeffrey. Whilst Val served in this place for only a matter of months—perhaps even weeks—his commitment to the region is legendary and his election to the Assembly on countback after Mr Smyth’s resignation was fitting recognition of his decades of service to the territory.

Madam Speaker, each of the seven Liberal MLAs recontesting this election was returned. Importantly, we are joined by four impressive newly elected Liberal MLAs. In the south, in Brindabella, Mark Parton’s experience in media, communications and business makes him a very effective advocate for this city.

In Kurrajong, Elizabeth Lee’s considerable background in law and, of course, her engaging personality, will be an asset for this Assembly. In Ginninderra, Elizabeth Kikkert’s tremendous work ethic, family values and commitment to fairness and justice will help to ensure that all voices are heard. And finally, in Yerrabi, James Milligan’s small business experience, community links and collaborative approach will be to all our benefit.

Each of these people, and indeed all people in the chamber, has a story to tell and a network of family, friends and broader community who made our elections possible. I

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video