Page 253 - Week 01 - Thursday, 15 December 2016

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

provided to the Speaker for out of session circulation to members within four months of the presentation of the report and tabled on the next day of sitting. Currently, a government response to all other committee reports is required within three months and there is no provision for providing them out of session to the Speaker for distribution to members and tabling on the next sitting day.

Further amendments to standing order 254A would simplify the provision for out of session circulation to the Speaker to allow for responses to be provided within the four-month time frame outside the sitting pattern. The suggested amendment would provide consistent and streamlined government reporting time frames for responses to both the Auditor-General’s and committee reports.

Question resolved in the affirmative.

Independent Integrity Commission—Select Committee


MR GENTLEMAN (Brindabella—Minister for Police and Emergency Services, Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Minister for Planning and Land Management and Minister for Urban Renewal) (12.17): I move:


(1) a select committee be established to inquire into the most effective and efficient model of an independent integrity commission for the ACT and that the committee make recommendations on the appropriateness of adapting models operating in other similarly-sized jurisdictions, as well as:

(a) the personnel structure of the commission to ensure the appropriate carriage of workload;

(b) governance and funding that delivers independence;

(c) the powers available to a commission;

(d) the educative functions of a commission;

(e) issues regarding retrospectivity, including human rights, and the timeframes around which former actions can be assessed;

(f) the relationship between any commission and existing accountability and transparency mechanisms and bodies in the ACT; and

(g) any other relevant matter;

(2) the select committee shall consist of the following number of members, composed of:

(a) two Members to be nominated by the Government;

(b) two Members to be nominated by the Opposition;

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video