Page 2274 - Week 07 - Wednesday, 3 August 2016

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Tuggeranong Arts Centre

MS LAWDER (Brindabella) (5.48): I would like to take the opportunity today to acknowledge the fantastic work of the Tuggeranong Community Arts Association on their recent success with the dance production from Fresh Funk, which is an important part of the association’s annual diary of events. There are about 300 dancers and dance tutors from across the ACT who worked tirelessly to develop and produce the wonderful performance, which was based on the movie Footloose. They had a number of pieces working towards that theme. The performance was held at the Calwell Performing Arts Centre at the Calwell High School. It was a great opportunity for family and friends, as well as members of the general public, to go and watch this fantastic dance production.

Fresh Funk started about 15 years ago when two university students approached the Tuggeranong Arts Centre with their idea to start this urban dance movement. They had been dancing and choreographing together for many years, and they had what they saw as a new and fresh dance style that they had been learning from interstate and international choreographers. The offerings have grown from there—from 15 years ago to, as I said, about 300 dancers and choreographers now. It is a great achievement for the Tuggeranong Community Arts Association and Fresh Funk on what they produce each year.

I would like to acknowledge the Tuggeranong Arts Centre CEO, Rauny Worm; Leena Wall, the Fresh Funk artistic director and tutor, who has recently returned from maternity leave; the staff and board of Tuggeranong Arts Centre; the Fresh Funk tutors; Thompson Quan Wing; the Murphy family; Shane Grieves; and ES Fotografi. The choreographers who did such a fantastic job included Sinan Amin, Isaiah Chadwick, Sarah Etherington, Jessica Gowing, Hannah Miners, Caroline Phengrasmy, Jessica Smith, Danica Spitaler, Acacia Tsekenis, Tim Walshe and Brittany Wood-Panckhurst.

Thanks also to all the cast and crew members and all of those locals who bought tickets and helped to support our local arts scene and, more specifically, the local dance scene. Thank you, again, to the Tuggeranong Community Arts Association for providing a great quality production and adding to the ACT’s vibrant arts scene.

Question resolved in the affirmative.

The Assembly adjourned at 5.52pm.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video