Page 2667 - Week 09 - Tuesday, 11 August 2015

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Education and Training Directorate—schedule 1, part 1.9.

MADAM SPEAKER: The question is that the proposed expenditure be agreed to.

Debate (on motion by Mr Smyth) adjourned to the next sitting.


Public education awards

MS BURCH (Brindabella—Minister for Education and Training, Minister for Police and Emergency Services, Minister for Disability, Minister for Racing and Gaming and Minister for the Arts) (9.37): I move:

That the Assembly do now adjourn.

I rise tonight to acknowledge the many nominees and award recipients of the 2015 ACT public education awards. One of the things that make the ACT education system so great is the many dedicated and accomplished teachers who work in our system. It is an ongoing pleasure and a privilege of mine to be able to visit so many of our schools and to see each and every day the great work teachers in our public education system do to inspire our students and unlock the wonderful opportunities for these young people.

The winners of the 2015 ACT public education awards were: Ms Sarah Synnot, Isabella Plains Early Childhood School, for early childhood teacher of the year. Ms Amanda Horne of Gowrie Primary School was highly commended. Ms Leslie Carr of Maribyrnong Primary School was the winner of the primary teacher of the year. Mr Chris Kenner of Hawker College was awarded the secondary teacher of the year. Mr Daryl Galic won the award for school support person of the year. Ms Ellie Templeton of Lake Tuggeranong College won the best new educator of the year, while Mr Kyle Dishaw from Black Mountain was highly commended in this category.

The principal of Calwell High School, Mr Bruce McCourt, took out the outstanding leader of the year award, and I congratulate Bruce for what he has done not only at Calwell high but at the other schools that he has led. He is a well-deserved recipient of outstanding leader of the year.

The award for leadership in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education was won by Mr John Williams, with the Red Hill Indigenous support group being highly commended. The volunteer of the year award was given to Ms Heather Girdlestone from the Neville Bonner school. Finally, the outstanding partnership of the year was awarded to Anglicare for their work at the Southern Cross Early Childhood School.

I give heartfelt congratulations to all the winners of these awards, and the nominees also deserve recognition. To be nominated, recognised and judged by your peers is a very special privilege and honour, and I recognise all the nominees as outstanding contributors to public education in the ACT.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video