Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2015 Week 02 Hansard (Tuesday, 17 February 2015) . . Page.. 421 ..

Melba Copland Secondary School

MR COE (Ginninderra) (4.27): I rise tonight to talk about the Melba Copland Secondary School and, in particular, their awards night which they held for their students in December last year. Melba Copland Secondary School is a twin campus, co-educational school with a student population of around 600. The school was formed in 2008, as an amalgamation of Copland College and Melba High School.

The school held a joint awards presentation and graduation for its students last December at the University of Canberra refectory. I note that Dr Bourke and Ms Porter were also in attendance. Congratulations to the class of 2014 on their graduation, and I wish them all the best for their adult life.

I would like to take the time to congratulate all those students who received awards. The year 7 awards went to Mufidah Ihsan, Gavin Richards, Jessica Wind and Ashlee Malam. The year 8 awards went to Ryan Miller, Kassandra Stewart, Amy Gooday, Bryce Hughes, Po Way, Rani Jopling and Bailey Biden. The year 9 awards went to Victoria Nguyen, Navarone Lutui, Erin Marshall, Anthony Siharath and Salome Fangaiuiha-Jones. The year 10 awards went to Jack Gooday, Joshua Guest, Corinna Schubert, Blake Giucci, Jack Zimmer, Kailin Odlum, Reice Jopling, Kathleen Kershaw, Rebecca Brown and Bethanee Thomas. The year 11 awards went to Bonnie Li, Lara Dahlberg, Liam Doyle, John Mayer, Roxanne Miller, Elijah Kaisuva, Sarah Buchhorn, Conner Flannery and Bozhi Wu.

The sports awards for 2014 went to Melanie Irvine, Daniel Holgate, Jessika Lomas, Jayden Ginders, Taylor Holgate and Bradley Thomas. And the year 12 awards went to Emily Brayshaw, Eylish Perry, Jessica Batt, Michael de Looper, Melissa Heckenberg, Teelah Dunn, Stephanie Feltharn, Michael Fleming, Daljot Singh, Christopher Casey, Daniel Fangaiuiha, Siobhan Evans, Jessica Dillon, Marius Barnard, Jessica Batt, Stephanie Porter, Kelsey Curd, Tri Tran, Elysia Cooke and Emily Fakavamoeanga.

I would like to thank the principal of the school, Mr Michael Battenally, for inviting me to the awards night. I would also like to extend my congratulations to those that participated in the actual event itself: William McIntyre and Hanna Siiteri, the masters of ceremonies; Kaitlin Johnston, who sang the national anthem; Marious Barnard, Ash Hamilton-Smith, Elysia Cooke, Theresa Kinnane and Emily Fakavamoeanga for their musical presentations; Nick Klomp, the guest speaker; and Jessika Lomas, who gave the year 12 address.

I wish all the students and staff all the very best, and wish all those in the school community in 2015 all the best for the year ahead.


MS BERRY (Ginninderra—Minister for Housing, Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs, Minister for Community Services, Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Minister for Women and Minister assisting the Chief Minister on Social Inclusion and Equality) (4.30): I rise tonight to reflect on the impact of bullying in our

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video