Page 238 - Week 01 - Wednesday, 26 February 2014

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

play, and best youth actor in a featured role in a musical. Tom has been performing since he was six and has been involved in technical production since he was 14. During that time, he has been nurtured by a longstanding CAT member company, the Bay Theatre Players. With their help and support, he has been accepted by NIDA to study production.

Since I became involved in the CAT awards more than a decade ago, I have always been inspired to see the many young people who got their start in professional theatre by winning a CAT award. As you know, many of them say that winning that award is what gave them the confidence to seek to pursue a career in the professional theatre. There would be few, if any, more difficult careers to choose. I am full of admiration for young people who make that decision to follow their dream.

In order to assist a young person who has chosen to follow this path, I established the professional development scholarship last year. The inaugural recipient was Pete Ricardo, himself a winner of a number of CAT awards. Pete is currently studying at an academy in Melbourne. I can report that he is doing particularly well and developing many new skills which will hopefully lead to a successful theatrical career.

This year we received almost 20 nominations, and the decision about who to select was a most difficult one. I want to thank both Coralie Wood and Stephen Pike, who assisted me in the process. I have great pleasure in announcing that the recipient of this year’s development award will go to NIDA, as I have just said. I also let people know that, if they know about young people who they would like to nominate for next year’s scholarship, there is a way to do that through the CAT award website. Nominations are now open.

CAT awards

MR COE (Ginninderra) (6.28): Last Saturday, like you, Madam Speaker, and Ms Porter, I was once again pleased to attend the ActewAGL Canberra area theatre awards. As in previous years, I would like to read into our territory parliament’s official record the list of the winners.

The TransACT best set designer for a play was Anne Kay. The TransACT best set designer for a musical was Patti Kennedy-Hyne. The AMB best costume designer for a play was Cate Ruth, Emma Sekuless, Miriam Miley-Read, Mia Ching and Ann McMahon. The AMB best costume designer for a musical was Christine Corrin, Jennifer Bond, Lauren Cunio, Rhoda Boyce, Nyla Collis and Melissa Jones and Jo Knight. The AMB best costume designer for a school youth production was the costume team from Kim Harvey School of Dance.

The Shellharbour Village best lighting designer was Chris Ellyard. The TransACT technical achievement award went to Tony Oakden, Dean Walshe, Alex Short and Duncan Henderson. The John Thomson magic moment of theatre award went to “the panda going through the washing machine” in Aladdin.

The Shellharbour Village best original work for a school or youth production went to the Gundaroo Public School. The Shellharbour Village best original work went to Rachel Hogan and Alexandra Howard for The Bird Man’s Wife. Tim Dalton of

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video