Page 4147 - Week 13 - Thursday, 31 October 2013

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Tuggeranong Community Council

MR DOSZPOT (Molonglo) (4.35): In tonight’s adjournment speech I wish to thank some of my previous constituents in Tuggeranong, specifically the Tuggeranong Community Council, of which I was a long-term member prior to being elected to the ACT Legislative Assembly. Of course, I continued that close association with the Tuggeranong Community Council during my four years as a member for Brindabella. In last year’s election I became a member for Molonglo but still retain close contact with the Tuggeranong Community Council through my shadow portfolios.

I was not able to join the Tuggeranong Community Council for their 30th birthday celebration on 3 September, so I am pleased to be able to recognise tonight some of the Tuggeranong Community Council members, past and present. First of all, my personal thanks and congratulations go to long-term past president Mrs Rosemary Lissimore, and her husband, David Lissimore, for their great contribution over the years; to her successor as president, Mr Darryl Johnston; and to the respective committees over the years—as well as, of course, the immediate past Tuggeranong Community Council committee of 2012-13. The executive committee was led by president Mr Nick Tsoulias, vice-president Mr Russ Morrison, treasurer Mr Frank Vrins, secretary Mr Darryl Johnston and assistant secretary Mr Ross McConnell. I also congratulate the new president-elect, Mr Eric Traise, and his new committee, who will be taking Tuggeranong Community Council forward in 2014.

I would also like to reflect on some of the contributions of individuals like Nick Tsoulias in particular as a business owner in Tuggeranong and a committed individual who has been heavily involved in the Tuggeranong community over the years. He was one of the founding members of Calwell Neighbourhood Watch. He was an active proponent of the doctors for Tuggeranong committee and he assisted in the setting up of Canberra’s first community-owned Bendigo Bank—as well as, of course, becoming first vice-president and then president of the Tuggeranong Community Council.

The volunteer contributions of individuals like Rosemary Lissimore, Darryl Johnston, Nick Tsoulias and people like them throughout Canberra, and of the respective committees that have provided support to them over the years, often go unappreciated and unrecognised by the community, mainly because they generally are too busy representing their community issues to market the news of their achievements and successes.

I would like to acknowledge the Tuggeranong Community Council and all similar community organisations around Canberra for their valuable contributions to the community. I offer our thanks and the community’s sincere appreciation for their continued hard work and commitment to our Canberra community.

Lifecycle cycling event

MR RATTENBURY (Molonglo) (4.38): I would like to make a few remarks about the Lifecycle 48-hour cycling event which was held on the weekend of 18 to 20 October. It is only in its second year. The event was held around Lake Burley

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video