Page 3536 - Week 11 - Thursday, 19 September 2013

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Landcare awards

MR RATTENBURY (Molonglo—Minister for Territory and Municipal Services, Minister for Corrections, Minister for Housing, Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs and Minister for Ageing) (5.23): The work of conservation volunteers was recognised last week with the announcement of the ACT Landcare awards. The awards celebrate groups and individuals that have made significant contributions to natural resource management projects in our local communities around the region. ACT Landcare volunteers put in more than 10,000 hours of unpaid work each year.

I would just like to take a moment to acknowledge the 2013 Landcare award winners, which are as follows: in the junior landcare team award the winner was the Lanyon Cluster of Schools—giving to the environment project, and the North Belconnen Junior Landcare Group was highly commended. Yurung Dhaura Aboriginal land management team was the winner of the Indigenous land management award. The Qantas landcare innovative community group award was won by the Hughes Garran Woodland Group, with the Friends of Aranda Bushland highly commended.

The individual landcarer award was won by Caroline Wenger, who is the convenor of the Umbagong Landcare Group, and Jenny Horsfield, who is the convenor of the Minders of Tuggeranong Homestead, was highly commended in that category.

The landcare facilitator coordinator award was won by Angela Calliess from Greening Australia, with Pauline Carder from the Upper Murrumbidgee Catchment Coordinating Committee highly commended in that category.

The innovation in sustainable farm practices award was won by Anne McGrath from Majura Valley Free Range Eggs, a tremendous local business who are, of course, in the spirit of today’s discussions, letting their chooks run free.

In the partnerships with landcare award the winner was the source water protection program by ACTEW Water, with Rob Thorman from the Land Development Corporation highly commended in that category. Many people know Rob from his high profile work around the community.

The quiet achiever award was actually two co-winners: Ken Hodgkinson from the North Belconnen Landcare Group and John Fitz Gerald from the Friends of Grasslands. They were recognised for their work on grasslands and woodlands.

The environment community support award for community coordinators was won by Glenys Patulny, the chair of the Southern ACT Catchment Group. Anyone who spends any time in Tuggeranong or has anything to do with water will have met Glenys. She is one of the most committed advocates for water issues, particularly in the southern part of Canberra, that I have ever met. She has been a significant supporter of Landcare since 1996. Stephen Skinner, the Molonglo water catchment coordinator, was highly commended in that category.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video