Page 2783 - Week 09 - Thursday, 8 August 2013

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

The public architecture awards went to Canberra College Performing Arts Centre by BVN Donovan Hill and St Claire’s College training centre by Collins Caddaye Architects, and the Australian National University national computational infrastructure facility by METIER3 Pty Ltd. The Malcolm Moir and Heather Sutherland award for residential architecture (houses) went to Knobel House by Anthony Knobel, architect. The residential architecture award went to Gallery House by Phillip Leeson Architects, and a commendation went to Rodway House by TT Architecture. The residential architecture (multiple housing) commendation went to Bridge Point by Colin Stewart Architects. The small project architecture award went to Roberts House by Dennis Formiatti, architect, with a commendation to Krawarree House by Strine Design and O’Connor additions by Allan Spira, architect.

The ACT sustainability award went to Knobel House by Anthony Knobel, architect, and the Sir John Overall award for urban design went to 2 and 4 National Circuit precinct by Fender Katsalidis The urban design award went to Manuka oval sport lighting by Cox Architecture and the Realm precinct by Colin Stewart Architects.

I would like to congratulate all the winners on their achievements and also place on the record my congratulations to the ACT chapter board and all those involved in organising the awards. For more information about the Australian Institute of Architects, I recommend members visit the institute’s website at

Building awards

MR WALL (Brindabella) (6.04): I rise this evening to pay tribute to the finalists and the winners of the 2013 Master Builders and Cbus excellence in building awards. The awards are a positive highlight of the year for the building and construction industry in the ACT, which continues to meet ongoing challenges and provide significant opportunities for employment and economic growth for our city. The awards not only showcase some of the excellence that is achieved through the building industry locally, but also encourages other companies to lift the bar in their future projects.

I wish to congratulate the following individuals and business award winners: Jordan Lohse for the apprentice of the year; Luke Manenica for cadet of the year and Peter Jamieson for the University of Canberra student of the year.

I also congratulate Guy Gleeson Building, Rork Projects, Easycare Landscapes, Digit Landscapes, dsb Landscapes, DZ Designs Landscapes and Construction, Tailor Made Builders, Rosin Builders, MMM Interiors, Simplicity Kitchens, Capital Veneering, Constructive Building, Build Professionals, Brother Projects, Preferred Builders, Paul Tilse Architects, Karin McNamara Design, Meire Constructions, Shaw Living, R Developments, Architects Ring and Associates, RAM Construction, Blackett Homes, Kasparek Architects, Delnas Metal Roofing, Select Custom Joinery, Antos Constructions, Hindmarsh Constructions, Ambe Engineering, ECON WALL, GEOCON, PBS Building, Lend Lease Retirement Living, Custom Steel Frames, BlueScope Steel, A Plus Plumbing & Building Services, Construction Control, Cord Civil, Project Coordination (Australia), GOTOVAC Homes, Classic Constructions,

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video