Page 1663 - Week 06 - Tuesday, 7 May 2013

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

MR GENTLEMAN (Brindabella) (4:34): Mr Assistant Speaker, thank you for the opportunity to speak on this matter of public importance today. I am proud to stand here as part of an open government that is committed to representing the people of Canberra. No matter where you live in the ACT, you have access to great health care, schools and the opportunity to work.

This government is committed to good governance. My fellow colleagues and I are always ensuring that we consult with the people in the territory, specifically in their electorates, and to make sure, where possible, that the community has the best opportunities.

I do find it a bit rich that Mr Seselja raises the topic this afternoon—the ex-Leader of the Opposition, Mr Seselja. He has abandoned holding the government to account for the people of Tuggeranong after promising them the world. By going to the election and changing electorates, he promised the people of Tuggeranong that he would be there for all. He promised the people of Brindabella that he was there to fight for them in the Assembly, and he cared about the issues that the people in his electorate raised with him. He promised to hold the government to account, but only for the next four months.

Discussion concluded.


Motion (by Mr Corbell) proposed:

That the Assembly do now adjourn.


MR COE (Ginninderra) (4.35): I rise today to commend Clint and Andrea Hutchinson for founding Fashfest. Over four nights last week, Canberrans were treated to an experience which is unprecedented in Canberra, but one befitting our great city. Each night of Fashfest featured an amazing array of talented Canberra designers and models and many people behind the scenes who made the event a spectacular success.

I would like to put on the record my congratulations to the team: producer Steve Wright; associate producer Nicholas Ellis; music director Michael Liu; hair director Wayne Friend; makeup director Karen Mathias; choreographer Jamie Winbank; public relations person Wendy Johnson; photographer Leighton Hutchinson; artistic director Sara Poguet; digital director Spero Cassidy; director of projects Zarko Danilvo; technical director Darren Russell; video director Michael Fardell; project manager Dom Nappo; director of construction control and CTI Ian Bowyer; Gerard Wilton and Dana Samson from It is isn’t it; interior designers Sarah Bowman and Rohan Thomas; and hospitality directors Sean Royle and Stephan Rockmann.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video