Page 772 - Week 03 - Tuesday, 26 February 2013

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

training and equipment for their chosen sport. To date the Vikings Group has provided in excess of $780,000 to assist local athletes.

This year the new scholarship recipients are: Bridget Reilly from the South Canberra Tuggeranong Athletics Club; Rebecca Beath, Tuggeranong Valley Touch Association; Jonathan Tammen, South Canberra Tuggeranong Athletics Club; Ashleigh Costello, Brindabella Calisthenics College; Erin Harriott, Kambah Pony Club; Eliza Tetley, Tuggeranong Vikings Swim Club; Samuel Hawksworth, Tuggeranong Valley Cricket Club; Sanoja Ramasundara, Tuggeranong Vikings Badminton Club; Jonathan Mosslar, Tuggeranong Vikings Hockey Club; and Jackson Bruce, Tuggeranong Vikings Triathlon Club.

These recipients are just a sample of the immense talent that exists within Tuggeranong, and I offer my best wishes to everyone involved in competition during 2013.

St Mary MacKillop College opening mass

MR SESELJA (Brindabella) (5.05): It was a great pleasure to attend the St Mary MacKillop College opening mass on 22 February 2013. I was joined by my colleague the shadow minister for education Mr Doszpot and many others, including parents and friends of the school. In fact, Mr Doszpot is often called the member for MacKillop by the principal, Michael Lee. I would like to put that on the record as well because he attends their events so often.

It is a wonderful opening mass that they have. It is massive. It is down at the Tuggeranong basketball stadium, and they fill the place. There are many people who contribute to making the mass a success and, of course, to making the school a success.

Father John Armstrong was the celebrant, along with Father Lachlan Coll and Deacon Vince Barclay. We had the students and teachers at St Mary MacKillop College in particular who contributed in the ceremony. Principal Michael Lee and, of course, Paul O’Callaghan, Sandra Darley, Michelle Da Roza, Lois White and Lachlan McNicol. We also had a number of students and teachers from Canberra schools and colleges, including the new college at Gungahlin, who were welcomed particularly at the mass.

Participants in the mass included Morgan Rosin, Nathan Backer, Grace Barclay, MaryAnne Schneider, Bethany Barclay, Sandy Sharman, Jayme Breitkopf, Grace Wilkinson, Rose Brassil, Taylah Shiel, Melanie Brooks, Olivia Ehlers, Claire Mackey, Kelsey Shakespeare, Kate Mueck, Jack Giles, Jack Davey, Morgan Margosis, Liam Gilmartin, Daniel White, Nathan Bizjak, Lewis Holland, Luke James, Ashleigh Maas, Brianna Cayirylys, Maddison Landon, Sarah Box and Bronwyn McKenzie.

Finally, it is always a great pleasure to be at events hosted at St Mary MacKillop. It is my old school. I am a proud graduate of St Mary MacKillop and I always receive a very warm welcome from Michael Lee and from all of the students and the staff. I

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video