Page 271 - Week 01 - Thursday, 29 November 2012

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

the executive to be attended to each and every day. Whilst Mr Seselja seems to think that if there is not a sitting day he does not have to go to work, that is not the case for those on this side of the Assembly.

This is an entirely reasonable sitting calendar. It is the long-term average of sitting weeks that this place has had for an extended period of time and it is an adequate and reasonable period of time for the Assembly to conduct its business.

MR SMYTH (Brindabella) (11.03): I have just been checking the Hansard. Mr Corbell may have inadvertently misled the Assembly. He claimed that after each election, 2001, 2004, 2008 and 2012, amendments were moved to seek—

Mr Gentleman: On a point of order, Madam Speaker, Mr Smyth is indicating that Minister Corbell misled the Assembly.

MADAM SPEAKER: There is no point of order. I was listening very carefully. Mr Smyth said that Mr Corbell may have misled the Assembly and I presumed that he was going on to demonstrate why he thought it was possible that Mr Corbell may have done that. Then Mr Corbell can deal with it if Mr Smyth mounts a case.

MR SMYTH: Upon consulting the Hansard, when the sitting pattern was set for 2002 Mr Wood moved the motion for the sitting pattern. Mr Wood spoke to it. Ms Tucker checked some dates and wanted to omit 17, 18, 19 and substitute 27, 28, 29 August. Mr Cornwell asked why. Ms Tucker explained. That amendment was agreed to and the motion, as amended, was agreed to. So there was certainly no attempt by the Liberal Party after the 2001 election to add extra sitting weeks. It was an incredibly short debate. I might go and check 2004 as well, but perhaps Mr Corbell, because I know he is a stickler for these things, will now stand and apologise to the Assembly and withdraw his comment.

Question put:

That Mr Seselja’s amendment be agreed to.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 8

Noes 9

Mr Coe

Mr Seselja

Mr Barr

Ms Gallagher

Mr Doszpot

Mr Smyth

Ms Berry

Mr Gentleman

Mrs Dunne

Mr Wall

Dr Bourke

Ms Porter

Mr Hanson

Ms Burch

Mr Rattenbury

Mrs Jones

Mr Corbell

Question so resolved in the negative.

Motion agreed to.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video