Page 3078 - Week 08 - Tuesday, 14 August 2012

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Chief Minister

Motion of no confidence

The Clerk: In accordance with standing order 103, I inform members that Mr Seselja has lodged the following notice of motion:

That this Assembly no longer has confidence in the Chief Minister, Ms Katy Gallagher MLA, due to:

(1) being the minister responsible for taking the ACT health system from one of the best performing in this country and turning it into one of the worst;

(2) being the minister responsible when the systematic deception of the community about the declining state of the health system occurred, including the altering of at least 11,700 health records over a number of years to make the system appear to be performing better than it was; and

(3) personally failing to disclose conflicts of interest and personal connections to the executive responsible for the alteration of many of the health records.

MR SPEAKER: I believe we are going to proceed with the presentation of committee reports, and then you will move the motion later, Mr Seselja.

Mr Seselja: I will not be moving the motion, I do not think.

MR SPEAKER: Okay, that is fine. We will move forward with some business.

Estimates 2012-2013—Select Committee


MS BRESNAN (Brindabella) (11.00): Pursuant to order, I present the following report:

Estimates 2012-2013—Select Committee—Report—Appropriation Bill 2012-2013 and Appropriation (Office of the Legislative Assembly) Bill 2012-2013 (3 volumes), dated 8 August 2012, incorporating additional comments (Ms Bresnan and Ms Hunter) and dissenting report (Mr Smyth and Mr Coe), together with a copy of the relevant minutes of proceedings and answers to questions on notice and questions taken on notice.

I move:

That the report be noted.

I apologise to the attendant who had to carry all those papers. I did have to carry them down to the chamber, though. First off, I would like to acknowledge my fellow committee members—the Deputy Chair, Mr Hargreaves; Mr Coe; Mr Smyth; and Ms Hunter—and thank them for their contributions and cooperation throughout this whole committee process, including the report deliberations. We actually worked very

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video