Page 406 - Week 01 - Thursday, 16 February 2012

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

team”, also in their words of course, of paddlers who beat all odds to win first place in both heats, heat 1 in 55.41 seconds and heat 2 in 54.26 seconds. The final was paddled at an almost Olympic pace—these are my words and slightly exaggerated—of 53 seconds, with several teams fighting for line honours. In a photo finish, however, sport and pro-tickle flew home to win first place from their closest rival by the smallest of margins, just 0.13 of a second.

Our congratulations go to all the valiant dragon boaters of sport and pro-tickle for taking out first place in the A final.

University of Canberra senior secondary college

Melba Copland secondary school

MR COE (Ginninderra) (6.26): I rise this evening to acknowledge two colleges located in my electorate of Ginninderra. At the end of last year I had the pleasure of attending the University of Canberra senior secondary college, Lake Ginninderra, graduation ceremony. I, along with some of my Assembly colleagues, including Vicki Dunne, Meredith Hunter and Mary Porter, and Senator Gary Humphries and a number of other supporters of the school, had the privilege of presenting awards to the outgoing year 12 class of 2011.

I would like to acknowledge the hard work and dedication of the following award recipients for 2011: Julius Afele, Isobel Ree, Robert Agostino, Remy Chadwick, Nicholas Ramirez, Lanora Feeney, Kathryn Arnold, Elise Jarosz, Rosa Newton-Walters, Bill Jian Zhenxuan, Sam Hardwick, Saxon Coupland, Maddie Sharpe, Sarah Thomason, Tarana Anand, Rachel Leonard, Edwin Dandadzi, Kesley Luis, Sarah Robertson, Sherridyn Willoughby, Louise Caldwell, Owen Carr, Sophie Cools, Adam Czarny, Sam Hardwick, Peter Knowles, Clare Sibthorpe, Melandri Vok and Jan Zimmer.

I would also like to pay tribute to the dedication of all the staff, both teaching and admin, at the college, including the principal, Martin Watson, deputy principals, Gerard Barrett and Kim Nichols, and one of the organisers of the awards ceremony, faculty leader of student services, Graeme Budd. I wish all those people the best of success for this coming school year.

I would also like to thank the outgoing P&C who served last year, including Catherine Chadwick, Georgina Newton-Walters, Michael Hicks, Christian Tolme and Mary Webb, in addition to the school board: Steve Sant, Martin Watson, Gerard Barrett, Phil Rasmus, Alex Olbrei, Bryana Conroy, Mary Webb, Geoff Bell, Marina Huston, Judy Moore and Colleen Wright.

I would also like to put in a plug for all those who are considering auditioning for The Wedding Singer, which is the college musical for this year. These sorts of productions are wonderful examples of how to unite the school community and I hope members of this place might be able to attend.

Late last year, I also had the opportunity to attend the years 7 to 12 presentation and year 12 graduation ceremony of the Melba Copland secondary school, also located in

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video