Page 4038 - Week 10 - Thursday, 28 August 2008

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . .

(1) Yes. I received two resignations in the last year. Mr Brian O’Reilly resigned as an acting member on 10 March 2008. I was advised of Mr John Haskin’s resignation as a member on 12 March 2008.

(a) Mr O’Reilly provided no reason for his resignation. I was formally advised of Mr Haskin’s resignation through the Chair of the Governing Board.

(b) No reasons were conveyed to me. I am not in a position to speak on behalf of Mr O’Reilly or Mr Haskins.

(c) I am not aware of any criticisms from the resigning members of the operation of the Board.

(2) The Chair of the Board was appointed after seeking nominations from all relevant industry stakeholders and the ACT Office of Women.

(3) I am satisfied that the Chair is sufficiently independent from outside groups in order to perform her functions properly.

(Question No 2217)

Mr Mulcahy asked the Treasurer, upon notice, on 28 August 2008:

In relation to early and up front rates payments, why does the ACT Revenue Office offer homeowners a 3% discount if they make their rates payments in full and up front before the first due date, and yet charge 16% interest if the payments are late.

Mr Stanhope: The answer to the member’s question is as follows:

The Government introduced the rates discount scheme in 1989 to encourage early payment, to reduce administrative costs associated with quarterly billing and collection of rates. The rate of discount reflects a saving roughly equivalent to an 8 per cent investment return for the ratepayers who take advantage of the scheme. Currently around 40 per cent of ratepayers pay upfront.

In regard to the penalty interest rate for late payment, the current rate of 15.75 per cent per annum comprises of a market rate component of 7.75 per cent per annum and a fixed penalty rate component of 8 per cent per annum. The penalty component is designed to increase the penalty interest rate to the point where it is uneconomical to use the Government as a source of finance. Section 26 of the Taxation Administration Act 1999 sets market rate component to the 90 day accepted bill rate updated twice yearly and the penalty interest component at 8 per cent. The current market rate is set at the 90 day accepted bill rate as at May 2008.

Gungahlin Town Centre—footpaths
(Question No 2219)

Mrs Dunne asked the Minister for Territory and Municipal Services, upon notice, on 28 August 2008 (redirected to the Chief Minister):

Why has the (a) footpath on Block 75 in the Gungahlin Town Centre along (i) Gozzard Street and (ii) Swain Street and (b) driveways on Block 75 along Gozzard Street not be completed yet and when will they be completed.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . .