Page 83 - Week 01 - Tuesday, 14 February 2006

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . .

being passed back to the Australian taxpayer. Governments do not make money; governments collect taxes and spend money on our behalf.

When ordinary men, women and families have an opportunity to reduce their income tax from the high levels they are still suffering in this country it is an outrageous and miserable approach for the territory government’s financial spokesman to say, “Let us deny that to the ordinary people of Canberra.” Where more than anywhere else in Australia are people reliant on salary and income? I hope the Treasurer’s successor will review the position that has been taken by this government.

Question on notice No 832

Yogie awards

MS MacDONALD (Brindabella) (5.41): I seek leave of the Assembly to table the answer to question No 832.

Leave granted.

MS MacDONALD: I present the following paper:

Question on notice No 832—Answer.

I note Mr Mulcahy was concerned about this issue so I tabled that answer.

Tonight I draw to the attention of the house an important issue: recognising excellence in youth work. In December last year I was fortunate enough to represent the education minister at the annual Yogie awards. I did that on behalf of Minister Gallagher, who was unable to attend. The Yogie awards are a Youth Coalition initiative, rewarding excellence in youth work in the ACT and Queanbeyan. They ensure that outstanding achievements in the youth sector are formally recognised and celebrated both within the youth sector and in the wider community.

Many deserving people and organisations were rewarded for their dedication to the youth of the Canberra region. These include the Connection youth support service; the Centrelink Community Unit, area southwest; the ACT Health’s Community Health and Mental Heath ACT units for their co-morbidity project; the peer research model of the Youth Coalition of the ACT and Morgan Disney and Associates; the Office of Children, Youth and Family Support; the Department of Disability, Housing and Community Services; the messengers program at the Tuggeranong Arts Centre; the Ted Noffs Foundation ACT; the YWCA Mura Lanyon Youth Centre; U-Turn Youth Services; Sexual Health and Family Planning ACT; the YWCA of Canberra for its board traineeship program; and the St Vincent de Paul Society for its St Nicholas young carers camps.

Also included are Mr Andy Mills, Dr Helen Watchirs, Mr Max Barker, Ms Kim Davison, Mr Michael Marriott, Ms Sindy Pearson, Ms Berenice Christusmeeum, Mr Peter Schwarz, Ms Rhonda Fuzzard, Ms Lisa Kelly, Ms Louisa Latukefa and Mr Tom Zinkel. I apologise if I have mispronounced anyone’s name. Every individual and organisation that was awarded deserves commendation.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . .