Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . .

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2003 Week 9 Hansard (27 August) . . Page.. 3244 ..

MR SMYTH (continuing):

Most of the list has been read out by other members, but some of the other groups are worth mentioning. The Rural Press primary producer award went to Tony and Heather Griffin at the Uriarra Station. Most of the station disappeared during the bush fires, although all the buildings survived. That work is undone, but no doubt Tony and Heather will get back into it.

The bush care nature conservation award went to the Friends of Grasslands. As Mr Hargreaves has already mentioned, the Westpac Landcare education award went to Lanyon High School for continuing Landcare activities, including propagation and plant work and support for other local schools. That is a part of the network that Mr Hargreaves spoke about, which runs up past Templestowe Crescent and Tom Roberts Crescent.

Mr Hargreaves: Avenue, avenue.

MR SMYTH: Sorry, Templestowe Avenue and Tom Roberts Avenue. He may have to apologise to the Canberra Times because there is an article in this morning's paper entitled "Lanyon lessons take a green turn". It is a nice article by Stacey Lucas, the education reporter, about the new hothouse. One of the problems that the school has encountered is that it was unable to get some funding to pick up plants to continue to plant them. They fixed that by purchasing a hothouse.

As part of the education program, they are now growing their own plants. Mr Wood opened it last week and got to unveil a wonderful plaque. The school is now saying that the greenhouse is not just a greenhouse. The article says, "The sunny interior would now be used by environmental studies classes and for a new horticultural class."So it is not just about protecting the environment; it is about instilling in our young ones love for and care and protection of the bush. The principal and the deputy principal program at Lanyon High are to be congratulated for the program and the work that they do in that area.

The other issue that I would like to speak about in this debate is the Alcoa Landcare community group award. It went to the Cooleman Ridge, the Mount Taylor and the Farrer Ridge Parkcare groups for their work over many years in those three reserves. I should note that Cooleman Ridge, Mount Taylor Ridge and Farrer Ridge Parkcare groups basically lost all their work on 18 January. The fires went through and burnt all of those areas. The assessment of how much of the vegetation has survived is still being done, but a fair amount of it has come through, and we hope to see the benefit of that work.

I had an email from Anne Ajions, who is a co-ordinator of the Mount Taylor group, about the award. It reads:

This is the good news I hinted at this week! Cooleman Ridge, Mt Taylor and Farrer Ridge Groups took out the Community Group award for all the work after the fires, and the ongoing program of care for the environment. Wendy Rainbird masterminded the award application, many thanks Wendy! The cast glass-like shield is very appropriate with its "broken edge"design! C'Ridge has first go for member's viewing, then the baton will be passed on! Thank you to everyone in the groups for all the support over the years and particularly the fire recovery.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . .