Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . .

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 1998 Week 1 Hansard (30 April) . . Page.. 244 ..

MS CARNELL (continuing):

and tourism policy. It will purchase services from the Canberra Tourism and Events Corporation and will maintain a close association with CanTrade. The sport and recreation function from the former BASAT has transferred to the newly named Department of Education and Community Services. Under the new arrangements, Mr Stefaniak continues to have responsibility for this function. Racing and gaming functions move into the new Racing and Gaming Unit in my department. This unit will also oversee the Casino Surveillance Authority.

My department will monitor Territory-owned corporations and appropriate GBEs and their commercial and financial performance. The Department of Urban Services continues to have responsibility for policy and regulation for particular industries, while my department has briefing responsibility for these entities. Mr Humphries retains responsibility for the Attorney-General's Department, which has been renamed the Department of Justice and Community Safety. This new name reflects the full range of functions covered by the department.

Mr Speaker, these new arrangements reflect a further streamlining of the approach that we as a government have taken to efficient and effective government in the ACT. Happily, the arrangements capture the spirit of the Pettit review and provide a basis for future consideration and implementation of the recommendations, of course after the select committee looks at the report.

Question resolved in the affirmative.

Papers and Ministerial Statement

MS CARNELL (Chief Minister and Treasurer): Mr Speaker, for the information of members, I present, pursuant to sections 31A and 79 of the Public Sector Management Act 1994, copies of contracts with Stewart Ellis (long-term contract), Neil Morgan (Schedule D variation), Anne Thomas (long-term contract), Warren Dickson (long-term contract), Malcolm Murray (long-term contract), Ted Rayment (new performance agreement), Anna Lennon (Schedule D variation), James Ryan (Schedule D variation), Sara Cronan (short-term contract), Guy Thurston (long-term contract), David Marshall (new performance agreement), Harriet Elvin (long-term contract), Ross MacDiarmid (long-term contract), Michael Deegan (both short-term contract and Schedule D variation) and Mark Owens (new performance agreement). Mr Speaker, I ask for leave to make a very short statement with regard to these contracts.

Leave granted.

MS CARNELL: Mr Speaker, I would like, as usual, to ask members to respect the confidentiality of all information involved in these contracts. I thank members of the last Assembly for always respecting that confidentiality.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . .