Page 3993 - Week 12 - Tuesday, 29 November 2022

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

London Circuit, building a new CIT campus and the new Woden transport interchange, buying 90 electric buses, building the Canberra Hospital expansion, supporting households to reduce their energy costs, skilling Canberrans to get a job, and so much more.

I want to thank my staff for helping me to deliver that work this year—David Ferguson, my chief of staff, Tahni Littlejohn, James Adams, James Eveille, Meg Billson, Saleeha Farooq, Anton Gallacher, Louise Momber, and Jed Rainbow. Thank you for your work. I also want to thank our directorate liaison officers: Callum Blake, Lauren Cunningham, Kylie Beer, Rachel Grant, Kellie Bradley, and Louise Hilder.

I want to thank Chief Projects Officer Duncan Edghill, from Major Projects Canberra, who will be leaving that agency. I want to acknowledge Duncan Edghill’s outstanding contribution to the city of Canberra. His skill, drive and expertise have delivered our city light rail stage 1, as well as getting our other projects underway—stage 2A, the Canberra Hospital expansion, the Canberra Institute of Technology Woden campus, and so much more. Best wishes on your next major project, Duncan.

I want to acknowledge Alison Playford, the Director-General of Transport Canberra and City Services, DDGs Jim Corrigan and Ben McHugh, and all of their teams in Transport Canberra and City Services for their work throughout the year. I also acknowledge Under Treasurer Stuart Hocking and DDG Kareena Arthy in CMTEDD, and their teams.

This year I want to give a very special shout-out to our hardworking GSOs, who have been working around the clock to manage storm damage on our roads, cutting grass, cleaning, street sweeping and managing tree damage. The government is acutely aware of that hard work and it deserves to be acknowledged.

Finally, I want to acknowledge our outstanding finalists and award winners in the national Training Awards this year, held in Adelaide on 18 November. I want to acknowledge the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year Award finalist from the ACT, Justin Drew. The Australian School-Based Apprentice of the Year finalist was Josh Haynes. We wish him all the best in his future plumbing career. The Vocational Student of the Year finalist was Julia Ware, who members of the Assembly might know from the Auslan inquiry. The Trainee of the Year finalist was Frances Zewe, from the department of agriculture. The Apprentice of the Year finalist was William Shipard, a mature-age carpenter who was an excellent finalist from the ACT.

I also acknowledge the Canberra Institute of Technology, which came home with the bronze medal for Large Training Provider of the Year. World View Technologies, the Small Employer of the Year silver award winner, is a fantastic local business in the circular economy area, employing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Particular congratulations go to Richard Lindsay, who was the national winner for the Teacher Trainer of the Year. Richard is the man behind the work that we are doing to skill Canberra’s automotive transformation, developing the CIT’s Australian-leading electric vehicle training course, which now has a waitlist of over 1,700 people, and growing. Well done, and it is great to see Richard getting the credit that he deserves.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video