Page 3752 - Week 11 - Wednesday, 23 November 2022

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Not only is he an incredible and accomplished writer, with his novels alone achieving significant acclaim, including this year’s publication My Heart is a Little Wild Thing; he has been a champion of writing as an artform and of the broader Canberra writing and arts community.

While I do not have the time to reflect on what they were recognised for, I would like to put on the record the other award winners: film producer Shannon Wilson-McClinton; writers Nigel Featherstone, Marion Halligan, Sandi Logan, Tabitha Carvan, Sarah St Vincent Welch and Kimberly K Williams; visual artists Rory Gillen, Michael Armstrong, Judith Nangala Crispin, Annette Blair, Maryke Henderson, Anita McIntyre, Valerie Kirk and Harriet Schwarzrock; dance artists Ali Mayes, Jake Silvestro, Danny Riley, Australian Dance Party and Ausdance ACT; musical artists Pip Thompson, Fred Smith, Luminescence Chamber Singers, Ronan Apcar, Rachel McNally, Michael Dooley and the Canberra Symphony Orchestra; musical theatre artists Andrew Finnegan, Echo Theatre Company, Stephanie Bailey, Ylaria Rogers and Rachel Reid (or Jazida); theatre artists Meaghan Stewart, Jarrad West, Chrissie Shaw, Max Gambale, Christopher Samuel Carroll, Dylan Van Den Berg, Amy Kowalczuk and Andrea Close.

I conclude by thanking the Canberra Critics Circle, and especially convenor Helen Musa, for bringing these achievements to the community’s broader attention and for their tireless work in reviewing all that flourishes in this city.

Question resolved in the affirmative.

The Assembly adjourned at 6.04 pm.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video