Page 1713 - Week 06 - Tuesday, 7 June 2022

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video

person subject to conditions. The government is confident that the consultative process with the Human Rights Commission for vaccination directions and the accompanying guidelines provide a robust internal scrutiny process which is then bolstered by the fact that the instrument is ultimately subject to disallowance.

The ACT government will recognise any existing exemptions, including any COVID-19 exemption recorded on the Australian immunisation register. The government will continue to be informed, on the advice of the Chief Health Officer and the information from the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee and the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation, in relation to the application of exemptions.

Exemption guidelines developed by the government will be implemented as a notifiable instrument, given the importance that the guidelines are notified where a vaccination direction is in existence and has not been disallowed. The ACT government will consult with the Human Rights Commission in the development of these guidelines to ensure that they are consistent with human rights.

The amendment also inserts a new section which provides for the internal review process, following an application for review. The new decision-maker, the internal reviewer, is required to conduct a review of the original decision and confirm the decision, vary the decision or revoke the decision and make a new decision. The new decision-maker must give notice of their decision in writing as soon as possible and not later than five days after the day the application for internal review is made.

MS LEE (Kurrajong-Leader of the Opposition) (11.50), by leave: I move amendment No 1 to the Minister for Health’s proposed amendment No 22, which has not been considered by the scrutiny committee [see schedule 3 at page 1780]. I present a supplementary explanatory statement to the amendment.

Question put:

That Ms Lee’s amendment to Ms Stephen-Smith’s proposed amendment be agreed to.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 7

Noes 15

Mr Cain

Mr Barr

Mr Gentleman

Ms Castley

Ms Berry

Ms Orr

Mrs Kikkert

Mr Braddock

Dr Paterson

Ms Lawder

Ms Burch

Mr Pettersson

Ms Lee

Ms Cheyne

Mr Rattenbury

Mr Milligan

Ms Clay

Mr Steel

Mr Parton

Ms Davidson

Ms Stephen-Smith

Mr Davis

Amendment negatived.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Debates(HTML) . . . . PDF . . . . Video