Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2021 Week 01 Hansard (Tuesday, 3 November 2020) . . Page.. 8 ..

I have received correspondence from Ms Lee advising me that she has been selected, and has given her consent, to be the leader of the Canberra Liberals, the largest non-government party. I table that correspondence:

Leader of the Opposition—Election—Consent—Letter to the Speaker from Ms Lee MLA, dated 28 October 2020.

MS LEE (Kurrajong—Leader of the Opposition) (10.43): I seek leave to make a statement.

Leave granted.

MS LEE: Thank you to the people of the Australian Capital Territory. It is an enormous privilege to be afforded the opportunity, once again, to be a voice for our community.

Madam Speaker, congratulations on your election. I wish you the very best in once again undertaking this very important role in our parliament.

I acknowledge my party room colleagues, Giulia Jones, Jeremy Hanson, Mark Parton, Alistair Coe, Nicole Lawder, Elizabeth Kikkert, Peter Cain and Leanne Castley. Whilst we are two short in number this term, we are an incredible team that brings together an enormous diversity of life experiences, of professional backgrounds and of different cultures. I am honoured to be leading this strong team, along with my deputy, Giulia.

Thank you to Alistair and Nicole, who led a strong united team to the 2020 election. I acknowledge them and their families in leading a strong campaign through one of the most challenging times that we have seen. Alistair and Nicole have always remained committed to serving the people of Canberra and I have no doubt that they will continue to do so as integral and strong members of my team this term.

I acknowledge our colleagues who we farewelled this term. The late Steve Doszpot, my fellow member for Kurrajong, deemed himself my big brother almost the instant we met. His legacy in our community, and in particular in the inner south, is legendary and he is very much missed by many. Vicki Dunne dedicated almost 20 years of her adult life to serving the people of Canberra. Whilst one of our biggest regrets is that we were unable to make her a minister, she served the community and the Assembly with distinction and she will be sorely missed.

When Andrew Wall, James Milligan and Candice Burch were not returned in this election, Canberra lost some excellent local members, but we lost our friends. Andrew, James and Candice brought so much to the Canberra Liberals team and to our community. It is, without a doubt, a huge loss for us in not having them on our benches and in our corridors. Thank you for your service to the Canberra Liberals and to the people of Canberra. We know that your commitment to our community will not stop at the doors of the Assembly.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video