Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2021 Week 01 Hansard (Tuesday, 3 November 2020) . . Page.. 11 ..

my colleagues, my party and my city in this way. I vow to listen, to see and to feel, because it is and will always be about putting our community first.

Giulia, Jeremy, Mark, Alistair, Nicole, Elizabeth, Peter and Leanne, I look forward to serving the people of Canberra with you. I could not ask for a more dedicated and committed team to do this with. Thank you for being by my side as we embark on this journey together. Even from opposition, we are going to achieve some extraordinary things.

Statement by member

MR RATTENBURY (Kurrajong) (10.54): I seek leave to make a statement as the Leader of the ACT Greens in the Assembly.

Leave granted.

MR RATTENBURY: Madam Speaker, I acknowledge that this Assembly meets this morning on the lands of the Ngunnawal people, the traditional custodians, and I pay the Greens’ respect to elders past and present. I also underline our commitment to contribute to the journey of reconciliation and to closing the gap for first nations people across all facets of life.

Standing here today, I am joined by five new colleagues, tripling the Greens representation from the Ninth Assembly. I am pleased to welcome the new members for the Greens: Rebecca Vassarotti, Emma Davidson, Jo Clay, Andrew Braddock and Johnathan Davis. With a representative from each electorate in the ACT, we will be able to represent more Canberrans and bring more of their voices to this chamber.

My former colleague Caroline Le Couteur and I were pleased with what we were able to achieve last term, but with six members in this place I know we can contribute even more this term. With our increased capacity, we will be able to talk to more community members, more organisations and more industry groups, and bring their issues, their concerns, their hopes and their ideas to this chamber.

I would like to thank our campaign manager and campaign staff, our party director, all our staff who worked to develop our comprehensive policy agenda, our entire team of candidates, and, of course, the many hundreds of volunteers who put their spare time, and their heart and soul, into helping to bring about the result that is represented in our members in this chamber today.

On behalf of all the ACT Greens, I would also like to congratulate all the members who were elected and particularly welcome the new members who are joining us today.

I would also like to take this moment to acknowledge those members who were not re-elected: Gordon Ramsay, Andrew Wall, Bec Cody, Deepak-Raj Gupta, James Milligan and Candice Burch. It is a tough and very public way to lose your job. I know that each of them put so much effort into their role in this place and into their campaigns. I wish them well as they forge a new path post politics.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video