Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2011 Week 14 Hansard (Tuesday, 6 December 2011) . . Page.. 5754 ..

I would like to pay tribute to all of the award winners. I will get through as many of them as I can. We had the AIC high distinction awards. The recipients were Michael Robertson from Campbell high school, Shane Arora from Canberra grammar, Mark Glanville from Canberra grammar, Benson Deme from Canberra grammar, Sanjay Farshid from Canberra grammar and Phil Zhu from Canberra grammar.

We had the Prudence awards. The recipients were Emily Luton from Jerrabomberra public school, Benjamin Gianquitto from Kaleen primary, Shriram Vaitheeswaran from Canberra grammar junior school, Michael Seslja from Marist college primary, Jordan Blyton from St Edmund’s college junior, Jake Wenger from St Monica’s primary school, Lauen Ducat from Belconnen high, Crystal Choy from Burgmann Anglican school, Bowen Wang from Canberra high school, Samuel Wade from Daramalan college, Josiah Jagelman from Karabar high school, Nisha Gupta from Merici college, Jake Coppinger from Orana Steiner school, James Richards from Radford college, Nikolas Antonakos from St Edmund’s college, Rebecca Ayun from St Mary Mackillop Catholic college, Riley Attard from Stromlo high, Sam Watson from Lyneham high, Christopher Hann from Melrose high, Alexa Baxter from St Clare’s college, Ying Zheng from Canberra girls grammar, Diane Premnath from Narrabundah college.

There was also the Australian mathematics competition and the prize winners were George Gabbedy from Jerrabomberra public, Griffith Zerk from Kaleen primary, Deepan Kumar from Canberra grammar junior school, Michael Robertson from Campbell high, Shane Arora from Canberra grammar, Benjamin Mynott from Canberra grammar, Charlie Chen from Emmaus Christian school, Zoe Neil from Lyneham high school, Ranon Chen from Marist college, Nicholas McColl from Radford college, Julian Pratley from Alfred Deakin high school, Mia Huang from Burgmann Anglican school, Joseph Wild from Daramalan college, Ian Mallett from Radford college, Glen Goodwin from St Francis Xavier, Apoorv Sehgal from St Francis Xavier, Chris Naco from Canberra grammar, Benjamin Thompson from Narrabundah. Well done to all of those!

I would like to say a few words about the opportunity I had to go to the Kumon awards ceremony about a week ago. It was hosted by the Calwell Kumon and the Manuka Kumon. Jane Hiatt from Calwell and Llois from Manuka were wonderful hosts. Everything that could go wrong went wrong for poor old Jane. All the technical difficulties that could be there were there but Jane Hiatt did an outstanding job in bringing it altogether.

There were many kids there getting awards and it was a great tribute to Jane Hiatt. It was a great tribute to all the staff and students at Kumon. I do not know a lot about Kumon but I did have the opportunity to visit there in Calwell. What I would say is that I was very impressed with Jane. I was very impressed when I heard stories of kids who in some cases had been struggling. One girl told me about how when she started there she was getting Ds in English. That was in year 7. She is now in grade 9 and she is doing year 12 English level. There was another young lady who was presenting a present to Jane for just the change in her life.

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video