Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2010 Week 10 Hansard (Thursday, 23 September 2010) . . Page.. 4487 ..

are doing interesting things. We need to be constantly looking outside our borders, as well as hopefully creating ideas here that other places will also seek to copy from us in this drive to be as water efficient as we can.

MADAM ASSISTANT SPEAKER (Ms Le Couteur): It appears that the discussion is concluded.


Motion (by Mr Corbell) proposed:

That the Assembly do now adjourn.

ACT Hockey—presentations

Brindabella Blues football club

MR DOSZPOT (Brindabella) (4.33): In my capacity as shadow minister for sport and recreation, I have over the last couple of weeks attended a number of sporting activities. First of all, on Wednesday, 8 September, I was a guest of Hockey ACT for the 2010 Brophy and McKay medals presentation evening. The evening celebrated player, team, coach and administrative excellence and culminated with the announcement of the Brophy and McKay medal winners. The evening also celebrated the 50th anniversary of the presentation of the Brophy medal.

The major award winners were as follows: the Brophy medal went to Dan Hotchkis from Central on 56 points. The McKay medal went to Sam Ellis from Wests on 74 points. The Central trophy went to St Patrick’s. The Waratah Shield went to Old Canberrans. The Sue Watt trophy went to Jeff Bingley from Central as most valuable junior umpire. The umpire of the year was Debbie Brown from the women’s competition. The Keith Harding memorial trophy went to Benson Williams from United for the most valuable junior umpire. The Jim Gallagher trophy went to Richard Metcalfe as umpire of the year in the men’s competition. In addition, it was great to see Heather McKay there presenting the McKay medal and Tony Luchetti presenting the Brophy medal as one of the major sponsors.

A few days later, on 11 September, I had the pleasure of spending a day with the Brindabella Blues, a very active football club in my local Calwell, Tuggeranong area. I would like to compliment the club officials: President Ken Yalg, Vice President Mark Mynott, Secretary Bev Alferink and committee members Frank Bizjak, Bobby Dawson and Peter Ambrose, just to name a few of the hundreds of volunteers who established Brindabella Blues Football Club as a significant junior and senior football club that caters to over 800 junior boys and girls and a further 300 senior men and women players.

The size of the club became quite apparent to me, as the presentations took all day to complete. From 8.30 in the morning to 3.30 in the afternoon, there was a steady stream of young players receiving their trophies for the year. My congratulations to all involved at the club—players, officials, parents and referees. It is always a pleasure to be invited to hand out the hundreds of trophies and to be able to share in the

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video