Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2010 Week 10 Hansard (Tuesday, 21 September 2010) . . Page.. 4234 ..

from the New South Wales Fire Brigade, a university student and a public servant—who were there to count people as they came in, and there were official witnesses—me and Megan Clowry, who was with the Canberra Darters and who is also an old girl from St Clare’s. They do have to go through quite a process, so I take my hat off to Angela Winter, the organiser, to Alison Jeffries the principal, and also to all of the roughly 900 St Clare’s girls who participated. Well done to each and every one of them, and well done to St Clare’s.

St Clare’s is a school that I have had some family links with. I obviously did not attend there myself, but I have had some family links, including my wife and my sister and some other family and friends. Well done, again, to St Clare’s, and can I just say what a fantastic contribution St Clare’s generally makes to our community in providing a fine educational experience for thousands of girls here in the ACT.

Canberra Raiders

MR COE (Ginninderra) (4.24): I rise this afternoon to give credit to everyone involved with the Canberra Raiders. The team had a great year and proved that they are one of the sides to watch next year and beyond. I had the privilege of going to around 10 of their games this year and saw the team go from strength to strength. The highlight was certainly going up to Penrith for the first week of the finals to see a very gutsy win.

As the leader of the Canberra Liberals said in a release last week:

I have been impressed with the team’s cohesion and the way the Raiders have presented themselves as a group. When there is a strong team ethos, the structure in place produces better performances on the field. It is a credit to the team, coaches and officials for presenting a positive message to the community.

I joined the more than 26,000 people who went out to Canberra Stadium on Friday night to see the Raiders take on the Tigers. The 26-24 loss gutted us all. Whilst there is little consolation in finals footy, the Raiders can look forward to an exciting 2011.

I would like to commend David Shillington on winning the Meninga Medal, Daniel Vidot for winning the CFMEU NRL coaching award, Sam Mataora for winning the Local Liquor rookie of the year, Dane Tilse for winning the Fred Daly memorial clubman of the year, Jack Wighton for winning the Gordon McLucas memorial award for junior representative player of the year, Mark Nicholls for winning the Goodyear Autocare Phillip Toyota Cup player’s player, Sam Williams for winning the Canberra Milk Toyota Cup coaches award, and Mark Appleton for winning the Geoff Caldwell encouragement award for education.

The Raiders are the pride of the national capital and have served our city and the region well over the last 30 or so years. I commend all involved with the club—Alan Tongue, Terry Campese and the entire on-field team and their families; David Furner and the coaching staff; Don Furner and all those involved with the administration of the club; the board, including John McIntyre, the chairman, Jim Murphy, Dennis Richardson, Allan Hawke, Michael Lightowler, John Mackay, David Thom and Paul

Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video