Next page . . . . Previous page . . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2004 Week 10 Hansard (24 August) . . Page.. 4100..

MR WOOD (Minister for Disability, Housing and Community Services, Minister for Urban Services, Minister for Police and Emergency Services, and Minister for Arts and Heritage) (6.54): The government supports this clause. You know why; we have had that debate. However, as I am looking at the time and the rest of the clauses, I propose to call a division on this. That will finish the night but set the pattern for the next couple of critical clauses. We will adjourn then until Thursday.

Question put:

That clause 7 be agreed to.

The Assembly voted-

Ayes 8

Noes 9

Mr Berry

Mr Quinlan

Mrs Burke

Mr Pratt

Mr Corbell

Mr Stanhope

Mr Cornwell

Mr Smyth

Ms Gallagher

Mr Wood

Mrs Cross

Mr Stefaniak

Mr Hargreaves

Ms Dundas

Ms Tucker

Ms MacDonald

Mrs Dunne

Question so resolved in the negative.

Clause 7 negatived.

Clause 8.

Debate (on motion by Mr Wood ) adjourned to the next sitting.


Motion (by Mr Wood ) proposed:

That the Assembly do now adjourn.

Committee office

MS MacDONALD (6.59): This is the last sitting week of the Fifth Assembly, so I want to place on the record my appreciation for what I have learnt from people who are the experts within the committee secretariat. Since I came into this place, on the education committee I have had Judith Henderson, David Skinner and Kerry McGlinn lending me their expertise, and on the health committee Maureen Weekes, Derek Abbott and Siobhan Leyne.

On the public accounts committee, because I came on to it later, I missed the first secretary, but I had the expertise of Derek Abbott and Stephanie Mikac and, on the Select Committee on Privileges, Jim Pender. I was on three estimates committees. On the main one for 2003-04 Derek Abbott provided us with his excellent skills; on the supplementary bill (No 3) 2003-04 it was Stephanie Mikac; on the main one for this most recent budget it was Siobhan Leyne, Robina Jaffray, Kerry McGlinn, Stephanie Mikac,

Next page . . . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search