ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

.. Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2019 Week 4 Hansard (4 April) . . Page.. 1420 ..

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 10 : Mr Barr, Ms Orr, Ms Cheyne, Mr Pettersson, Ms Cody, Mr Rattenbury, Ms Fitzharris, Mr Steel, Ms Le Couteur, Ms Stephen-Smith

Noes 7 : Mr Coe, Mr Parton, Mr Hanson, Mr Wall, Mrs Kikkert, Ms Lawder, Mr Milligan

Question resolved in the affirmative.

Bill agreed to in principle.

Detail stage

Clause 1.

Debate (on motion by Mr Barr) adjourned to the next sitting.

Privileges 2019—Select Committee


MADAM ASSISTANT SPEAKER (Ms Orr): The Speaker has been notified in writing of the following nominations for membership of the Select Committee on Privileges 2019: Mr Pettersson, Mr Rattenbury and Mr Wall.

Motion (by Mr Barr) agreed to:

That the Members so nominated be appointed as members of the Select Committee on Privileges 2019.

Fuels Rationing Bill 2018

Debate resumed from 29 November 2018, on motion by Mr Rattenbury:

That this bill be agreed to in principle.

MR COE (Yerrabi—Leader of the Opposition) (5.37): The opposition will support the legislation before the Assembly today regarding fuels rationing. It is important that the ACT has a legislative framework that allows the government of the time to implement a fuel rationing scheme in the unlikely event of a national shortage. I acknowledge that this bill is the result of the ACT's participation in the intergovernmental agreement in relation to a national liquid fuel emergency, and the Canberra Liberals support the territory's ongoing involvement in this arena.

The opposition supports exemptions provided to emergency services from any fuel rationing scheme as it is imperative that our first responders are still able to conduct their activities during a shortage event. The ability to prioritise the distribution of fuel

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . PDF . . . . Video . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT