ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

.. Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2016 Week 3 Hansard (9 March) . .

Page.. 879..

Alienation and bullying kill people. I call on all members here to stand up for teachers and for schools, to stand up for LGBTIQ young people and their families, and to stand up for a more inclusive and progressive Canberra. I commend the motion.

Question put:

That Mr Doszpot's amendment be agreed to.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 8: Mr Coe Mr Doszpot Mrs Dunne Mr Hanson Mrs Jones Ms Lawder Mr Smyth Mr Wall

Noes 9: Mr Barr Ms Berry Dr Bourke Ms Burch Mr Corbell Ms Fitzharris Mr Gentleman Mr Hinder Mr Rattenbury

Question so resolved in the negative.

Motion agreed to.

Tharwa village

MR WALL (Brindabella) (4.13): I move:

That this Assembly:

(1) notes:

(a) the social and financial impact on Tharwa Village as a result of bad decisions made by successive ACT Labor/Green Governments;

(b) the long history of a lack of meaningful consultation from the ACT Labor Government with the residents and stakeholders of the Tharwa region on decisions that have adversely affected Tharwa Village and surrounding areas;

(c) Tharwa Village is the gateway to the Namadgi National Park and is a focal point of Tourist Drive 5; and

(d) that the Tharwa Village Plan currently being considered by the ACT Labor Government has failed to fully consult with all residents and stakeholders of Tharwa Village and surrounds; and

(2) calls on the ACT Government to commit to:

(a) extending the consultation period on the Tharwa Village Plan and include face to face consultation with all businesses operating in the surrounding area; and

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT