ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

.. Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2016 Week 2 Hansard (17 February) . .

Page.. 527..

I am pleased to have been able to bring this motion to this place today. I will not be supporting Mr Hanson's amendment, and I urge members to vote for the motion as it stands.

Question put:

That Mr Hanson's amendment be agreed to.

The Assembly voted-

Ayes 8 Mr Coe Mr Doszpot Mrs Dunne Mr Hanson Mrs Jones Ms Lawder Mr Smyth Mr Wall

Noes 9 Mr Barr Ms Berry Dr Bourke Ms Burch Mr Corbell Ms Fitzharris Mr Gentleman Ms Porter Mr Rattenbury

Amendment negatived.

Motion agreed to.

Graffiti vandalism

MRS JONES (Molonglo) (4.06): I move:

That this Assembly:

(1) notes that:

(a) there is an ongoing problem with suburban graffiti vandalism on residential fences that face unleased Territory land all across Canberra, particularly along Hindmarsh Drive in Weston Creek;

(b) the suburban graffiti vandalism is an eyesore and negatively impacts the experience of place and confidence in the community;

(c) the suburban graffiti vandalism affects the perceived value and pride of an area; and

(d) fences which face onto a main road, lane ways, reserves and unleased Territory land are in fact a shared amenity between the house owner and the community; and

(2) calls on the Government to address the growing issue of suburban graffiti vandalism.

I am pleased today, as member for Molonglo, to speak to the motion on the notice paper in my name regarding this important matter of addressing suburban graffiti vandalism in our city. In March 2014 the then Minister for Territory and Municipal Services, Minister Rattenbury, told Mr Wall in a letter that the ACT government

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT