ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

.. Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2014 Week 9 Hansard (18 September) . .

Page.. 2930..

Question put:

That the motion, as amended, be agreed to.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 7: Mr Barr Ms Berry Ms Burch Mr Corbell Ms Gallagher Mr Gentleman Mr Rattenbury

Noes 6: Mr Coe Mr Doszpot Mrs Dunne Mr Hanson Ms Lawder Mr Smyth

Question so resolved in the affirmative.

Travel report—Parliament of Kiribati

MS LAWDER (Brindabella), by leave: I present the following paper:

Travel Report—Twinning Arrangement—Visit to Parliament of Kiribati—Mr Wall MLA, Ms Lawder MLA and Ms Rafferty—24 to 28 August 2014, including associated documentation.

This is a report on a recent visit to the parliament of Kiribati by me, Mr Wall and Ms Rafferty. Members may recall that Ms Porter was originally participating in the visit; however, when she was unable to continue with her travel plans, I joined the travel delegation in her place.

Members would be aware that the ACT Assembly has a twinned arrangement with the parliament of Kiribati to foster cooperation between developed and developing branches of the CPA. The Kiribati parliamentary system is a blend of both the British and American systems. A president is elected nationally. Members of the cabinet are appointed by the President from the members of parliament. The Speaker, who is not a member of parliament, is elected by the members, and the Speaker has neither an original nor a casting vote in parliamentary decisions. Parliament is called Maneaba ni Maungatabu, with 44 elected members, making it a 46-member unicameral parliament.

I would like to thank the various members of the Office of the Legislative Assembly who assisted with making travel arrangements, including facilitating meetings and visits. Our thanks also go to the Speaker, President, Clerk, Deputy Clerk and other members of the Kiribati parliament and their staff.

We had a busy and informative schedule, including discussions with the Australian High Commissioner, George Fraser, DFAT program staff, including Mr Michael Hunt, and the Director of Tourism; a visit to Betio prison; a reception held by the President to welcome the British High Commissioner, Mr Roderick Drummond, and also to welcome Ms Osnat Lubrani, UNRC; a visit to the Marine Training Centre; discussions with the minister for women and social affairs; a visit to a disability site, Nanikai village; a meeting with the director of agriculture and a visit to the agriculture

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT