ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

.. Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2014 Week 9 Hansard (16 September) . .

Page.. 2761..

The Fred Hollows schools award is held in Fred's honour to celebrate all of the great work that ACT primary school students do and inspire them for the future. Education is one of the ACT government's most important responsibilities. In the ACT we aim for all kids to do well in academics, but our schools have larger responsibilities to equip our students with the skills needed to achieve their full potential.

All schools are about values. We believe that inspiring students to be generous, caring and active citizens early in life will help them to become great members of their community regardless of where their lives take them.

In closing I would like to thank the Fred Hollows Foundation for their important work across Australia and the world. I would also like to thank the principals and teachers of Amaroo public school, Arawang public school, Canberra Christian School, Canberra Girls Grammar, Canberra Grammar, Charles Conder public school, Duffy public school, Forrest public school, Gold Creek public school, Hawker public school, Holy Spirit primary, Holy Trinity primary, Jervis Bay public school, Kaleen public school, Latham public school, Mawson public school, Namadgi public school, Radford College, Red Hill public school, St Edmund's College, St Francis of Assisi school, St John Vianney's school, St Jude's school, St Michael's school, St Thomas More's school, St Thomas the Apostle school, Trinity Christian School, Wanniassa Hills public school, Weetangera public school and Yarralumla public school.

I thank them for all the work they do that creates cultures of generosity and care in our schools, both through the programs they run and through the examples that they set. I hope the students who participated in the program continue their great work and continue giving back to the community by helping in various school, social and community activities.

Construction Industry Training Council 2014 awards

MS LAWDER (Brindabella) (4.16): Recently I had the pleasure of attending the Construction Industry Training Council 2014 awards for outstanding graduating apprentices. The Council is a not for profit organisation that provides advice and assistance in industry policy, planning, delivery, resource allocation and other relevant issues for the building and construction industry. CITC aims to create an environment in which industry stakeholders can contribute to the vocational education, training and skills development in the ACT and surrounding region. It has direct responsibility for undertaking the consultation and implementation of the industry's national training packages as well as representing the region's broader training interests.

The event was a great success, and I wish to thank the organisers and especially acknowledge CITC chair, Mr Bill Cleary. I also wish to congratulate those who received awards at the event. Firstly, congratulations to the joint winners of the 2014 award for outstanding graduating apprentice, Bradley Monkhouse and Gary Mills.

My congratulations also to the following winners in their respective categories: bricklaying, Shaun Campbell; cabinet making, Joshua Kelly; cadet, Benjamin Dunlop; carpentry, Bradley Monkhouse; civil construction, Travis Luscombe; concreting, Brett Thoms; glass and glazing, James Lagudi; Indigenous (carpentry), Jordan Rowe;

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT