ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

.. Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2014 Week 5 Hansard (15 May) . . Page.. 1624..

Pedal Power

MR COE (Ginninderra) (4.57): I rise this evening to talk about Pedal Power ACT. As many members would be aware, Pedal Power ACT is a devoted group of bike riders on a mission to make Canberra more cycle friendly. They aim to achieve their mission by increasing public awareness of cyclists, by encouraging the provision of bicycle facilities and by spreading helpful information about bicycle safety, bicycle skills and how to properly repair and maintain your bicycle. Pedal Power are certainly one of the more vocal advocacy groups in Canberra and have been very successful in advocating for their cause. Whilst there will be some policies that I agree with and others that I do not, I very much admire their professionalism and commitment.

Pedal Power runs a social ride every Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday, allowing a group of members to gather together and go for a ride. For those with a competitive streak, Pedal Power also conducts Fitz's challenge. The challenge is run on the last Sunday in October in the Brindabella ranges and consists of five different events, from the terrifying 255-kilometre Fitz's extreme to the short but nonetheless daunting 50-kilometre Tidbinbilla challenge. I congratulate Gordon Brewster, Paul Schroeder, Glen Columbine, Adam Bee and Declan Prosser, who finished first in their respective events last year.

Off the bike, the group regularly holds social information nights, allowing the group's members to socialise and discuss various issues surrounding bike riding. These nights are also beneficial to new members who are seeking to learn more about the organisation. Pedal Power volunteers have also established a strong advocacy team to support their interests and achieve their mission.

I would like to place on the record my appreciation for all those involved in Pedal Power, including the executive officer, John Armstrong, and the public officer, Luke Wensing. Pedal Power's council also deserves congratulations for its efforts. The council is headed up the by the president, Jane Brookes, and consists of Michael Braund, Gillian Helyar, Prame Chopra, Eric Huttner, Vicki Deakin, Jeff Ibbotson, Robert Patch, Bruce Paine and John Widdup.

I would also like to place on record my thanks to those who partner with, sponsor or support Pedal Power, including Australian Ethical, CANwalk, Cycle City Lyneham, Fact BMX Club, KidSafe, Snedden Hall and Gallop, Stacks Compensation, the ACT government, the Constable Kenny Koala program, the Physical Activity Foundation and the Smith Family. Finally I would like to congratulate all the group members who won awards at their last annual awards night. They are Roger Bacon, Clem Tozer, Keith and Gillian Helyar, John and Julia Widdup, Vicki Deakin, Neil Dall, Matt King, Jeff Ibbotson, Beth Johnstone, Silkie Smaglinski, Doug Thompson, Jenny Cleaver and June Hornby.

I would also like to put on the record that I am very grateful to receive their magazine on a regular basis. I commend the work of Pedal Power ACT and praise all those who are involved. For further information on Pedal Power ACT, I encourage members to visit their website at

Question resolved in the affirmative.

The Assembly adjourned at 5.01 pm until Tuesday, 3 June, at 10 am.

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT