ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

.. Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2014 Week 2 Hansard (19 March) . . Page.. 580..

In conclusion, I congratulate Speaker Dunne, the Speaker's office and the staff of the Office of the Legislative Assembly for marking Commonwealth Day in the territory.

National Capital Rally

MR GENTLEMAN (Brindabella) (6.27): I rise tonight to put on the record my congratulations to all of those involved in the recent successful event held in Canberra's forests, the National Capital Rally. Over the weekend of 28 February to 2 March, 59 competitive rally teams took to the forests in what were some very exciting times. Through the highs and lows, spectators were able to view the sights from several locations, including that of the main service hub on Coppins Crossing Road, making spectating more accessible for Canberra locals.

I take this moment to congratulate the Canberra competitors and their teams, and some of the others involved. Firstly, there is my team from Techworkz, Michael Harding and Julie Boorman. Then I mention Neil Bates, Coral Taylor, Brett Stephens, Tony Brandon, Trevor Stilling, Nigel Walters, Stuart MacLachlan, David Stephens, Mick Patton, Bernie Webb, Adrian Coppin, Tim Batten, Rhys Pinter, Jim Gleeson, Ritchie Dalton, Gerald Schofield, Ray Baker, Doug Wright, Jon Hall, Tristan Kent, Russell Hanna, Mike Behnke, Brett Southwell, Russell Winks, Steve Hodgkin, Stuart Collison, Jason Burgemeister, Meng Chung, James Thornburn, Blake Stevens, Amy Stevens, Denis Stevens, Frank Brookhouse, Michael Taylor, Fro Horobin, David Wright, Mathew Boorman, Mel McMinn, Tim Baxter, Kim Day, Alison Lawarik, Leigh Pierce, Roland Schmitz and Sally-Anne Schmitz. If I have some time later on, I will try and mention some of the ARC teams.

This event would not be possible without people working behind the scenes to make this sport happen. The ACT government have had several people work with the Brindabella Motor Sport Club to ensure the event went ahead. These especially need to be noted: Neal Guthrie, of course, from stadiums and events; John Leahy; Nikki Toohey; and the TAMS team.

I would also like to congratulate the large team of volunteers working to make this event possible. Adrian Dudok, as clerk of course, put in a tremendous amount of time working to make sure this event went ahead, and I would like to personally thank him as an avid motorsport enthusiast. He was backed by a tremendous team, including Wayne Kenny, Julie Lucas, Jane Ward, Ian Bigg, Marty Holberton, Dr Matthew Croxford, Gary Searle, Allan Greenough, Phil Longworth, John Buckley, Chris Clark, Dave Vaughan, Tony Harris, Peter Marcovich, Laurie Cunningham and Robert Easton.

Unfortunately, one official and loyal motorsport enthusiast did not make it to the rally. He tragically and suddenly passed away just a couple of days before the event began. I wish to note my condolences in regard to his death. He was a friend of mine and a co-competitor, Mike Bell, who had been involved in the rallying scene in Canberra for about 30 years, having been clerk of course for this main event in most of those. I wish to pass on my thoughts to his wife, Sarah Manuel, and the family.

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT