ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

.. Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2014 Week 2 Hansard (19 March) . . Page.. 571..

The act affirms the Melbourne declaration on education goals for young Australians 2008 and the fundamental responsibility of all governments—commonwealth, state and territory—as well as other partners involved in the provision of education in Australia to make a national commitment to cooperation and collaboration in ensuring high quality schooling for all Australian students regardless of their background, circumstances or where they live. It says that all students in all schools are entitled to an excellent education allowing each student to reach his or her full potential so that he or she can succeed, achieve his or her aspirations and contribute fully to his or her community now and into the future.

In closing, for certainty and security in implementing a significant school reform, the national education reform agreement sets out six years of funding from 2014 through to 2019. I am very disappointed that the Canberra Liberals have today said they do not support this funding for Catholic and private schools across the territory. All parties should take account of the need for the long-term commitment to the proposed reforms, especially on the commitment for funding for all schools.

I have said a significant debate is occurring in Australia at this time. But I am sure that all families across Australia want an Australian school system where all Australian children and young people are entitled to receive an excellent education through the provision of a high quality and appropriately funded school system, irrespective of where they live and where they attend.

At 6 pm, in accordance with standing order 34, the debate was interrupted. The motion for the adjournment of the Assembly having been put and negatived, the debate was resumed.

Question put:

That the motion be agreed to.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 9: Mr Barr Ms Berry Dr Bourke Ms Burch Mr Corbell Ms Gallagher Mr Gentleman Ms Porter Mr Rattenbury

Noes 8: Mr Coe Mr Doszpot Mrs Dunne Mr Hanson Mrs Jones Ms Lawder Mr Smyth Mr Wall

Question so resolved in the affirmative.

Motion agreed to.

Gugan Gulwan Youth Aboriginal Corporation

MR WALL (Brindabella) (6.05): I move:

That this Assembly:

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT