ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2013 Week 9 Hansard (8 August) . . Page.. 2700..

We will continue to do our job as best we can with the committee structure, but it is fair to say that it is not optimal. It is not good for democracy. It is not good for this Assembly.

Question put:

That the motion be agreed to.

The Assembly voted—

Ayes 8: Mr Coe Mr Doszpot Mrs Dunne Mr Hanson Mrs Jones Ms Lawder Mr Smyth Mr Wall

Noes 9: Mr Barr Ms Berry Dr Bourke Ms Burch Mr Corbell Ms Gallagher Mr Gentleman Ms Porter Mr Rattenbury

Question so resolved in the negative.

Executive members business—precedence

Ordered that executive members business be called on.

Asylum seekers—treatment

MR RATTENBURY (Molonglo) (11.19): I move:

That this Assembly:

(1) notes that:

(a) the issue of people seeking asylum from persecution is an international humanitarian issue;

(b) the majority of people seeking asylum who arrive by sea are subsequently found to be refugees under the Refugees Convention;

(c) the Federal Government has recently announced that no people seeking asylum from persecution arriving by sea will be settled in Australia;

(d) Australia, as one of the most stable and wealthy nations in the region, is able to provide humane and just responses to this humanitarian emergency; and

(e) the ACT has a proud history as a multicultural city that celebrates diverse cultures; and

(2) calls on the ACT Government to write to the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition expressing grave concern regarding the treatment of asylum seekers, the transfer of refugees to Papua New Guinea and Nauru, and Australia's fulfilment of its international obligations.

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT