ACT Legislative Assembly Hansard

Advanced search

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

Legislative Assembly for the ACT: 2013 Week 7 Hansard (14 May) . . Page.. 1970..

ACT universities generate millions in revenue and cannot survive financial hits on the scale the federal Labor government has foisted on them and ACT Labor has silently accepted. 14 September is Clean Up Australia Day. Bring it on and let us hope this madness in cannibalising one education sector for another can stop. (Time expired.)

Discussion concluded.


Motion (by Ms Burch) proposed:

That the Assembly do now adjourn.

ACT Cricket awards

National Volunteer Week

School volunteer program

MR DOSZPOT (Molonglo) (4.34): First of all, I would like to mention that last Saturday night I had the pleasure of attending the ACT Cricket high performance awards presentation night. Congratulations to all of the recipients in all the high performance teams, from under-12s through to the open age teams, as well as indoor cricket representative teams.

The winner of the Bronwyn Calver medal was Kris Britt; the Peter Solway medal went to Shane Devoy; the ACT Meteors batting award went to Kris Britt; the ACT Meteors bowling award went to Sally Moylan; the ACT Comets batting award went to Dean Solway; the ACT Comets bowling award went to Andrew Maher; the Luke Bush rising star award went to Matthew Condon. The high performance youth female player was Zoe Cooke; the Indigenous player of the year, Mitchell Taylor-Briscoe; the under-19 male player of the year, Nick Winter; the under-18 female player of the year, Zoe Cooke; the under-17 male player of the year, Tom Henry; the under-15 female player of the year, Khiarni Cornish; the under-15 male player of the year, Nikhil Mathai; the under-14 male player of the year, Daniel Leerdam; the under-13 male player of the year, Jordie Misic; and the under-12 male player of the year, Julen Sanchez.

In indoor cricket, the Bill Floros medal went to Timmy Floros; the ACT Rockets batting award went to Max Rankin; and the ACT Rockets bowling award went to Vinesh Bennett. The under-18 male player of the year was Timmy Floros; the under-16 male player of the year, Sam Gunning; the under-14 male player of the year, Adam Seary; and the under-12 male player of the year, Owen Levings.

It also gives me great pleasure to highlight the fact that the ACT over-60s cricket team are now the Australian 2012 national champions. The Australian over-60s cricket championship was held in Adelaide last November, and a team from the ACT were the winners of the 2012 over-60s championship. The members of that winning team are Ron Axelby, captain; Denis Axelby; Tony Paterson, vice-captain; Paul Cullen; Peter Howes; Ian Howe; Jim Martin; and Neil Bulger.

Next page . . Previous page. . . . Speeches . . . . Contents . . . . Sittings . . . . Search

If you have special accessibility requirements in accessing information on this website,
please contact the Assembly on (02) 6205 0439 or send an email
Accessibility | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
© Legislative Assembly for the ACT